Friday March 11 2016

Makerere elects guild boss today

L-R: Bazil Mwotta Biddemu (ind) and Roy

L-R: Bazil Mwotta Biddemu (ind) and Roy Ssemboga (DP) 



Makerere University students will today elect their guild president from the 13 candidates, who for the last two weeks, have been hunting for votes.

The 13 candidates from which the students will elect the university’s 82nd guild president include Mr Basil Mwotta Biddemu, Mr Simon Ssenyonga, Mr Umar Nsubuga, Mr Ismail Kasozi, Mr Shafic Kalyango, Mr Brian Nassala, Mr Denis Kiyingi, Mr Nicholas Ssekide and Mr Sospeter Nviri, all independent candidates.

Others are Mr Roy Ssemboga from the Democratic Party, Mr Dick Rodgers Ainomugisha of FDC, Mr Ankunda Mandela of NRM and Mr Fred Luyinda of Opposition pressure group - Go Forward.

Mr Roy Ndaula, the Makerere University electoral commission chairperson, told Daily Monitor yesterday: “We have all the voting materials and I can confidently say we are set”.

The race, which analysts say could be tight between Mr Ssemboga (DP) and independent candidate, Biddemu Mwotta, has no female candidate. Mr Ssemboga is a fourth year student of medicine and surgery and a former guild electoral commission chairperson while Mr Mwotta is a second year student of education and a former guild representative council member from the School of Education.
The polls are expected to open at 8am and close at 5pm.