Saturday March 3 2018

Contenders braced for wet conditions in Jinja

Jas Mangat during the super special stage of the Um

Current NRC leader Mangat may not have the luxury of engaging flying gears because of a an anticipated slippery route in Jinja this weekend. PHOTO BY JB SSENKUBUGE 

By Fredrick Musisi Kiyingi & John Batanudde


Wet conditions during this weekend’s FMU Jinja Challenge Rally might upset the form book.
Justin Mungoma, the clerk of the course has warned drivers to be wary of the wet conditions considering the rains that have consistently hit the Eastern region this week.
“We saw it in Mbarara last year when top drivers could not cope with the rain. Anything can happen and don’t rule out upsets,” Mungoma, who has designed the route told SCORE. Omar ‘Mad Viper’ Mayanja and Hussein Mukuye won a similarly wet Mbarara Rally after the favourites failed to make it to the finish line.
Arthur Blick Jr, 2015 champion, participating in his first event this season, concurred with Mungoma about the wet conditions.
“The sudden change from dry to wet conditions will reduce the speed of drivers and chances of making mistakes will be many,” said the Shell Helix-sponsored Blick Jr.

Poor visibility
“If it keeps raining, the speed will go down, no one wants to take risks because the visibility will not be good.” Blick Jr, who had a poor 2017 by his standards and is likely to drive the Subaru N10 for the last time, thinks he has a chance of winning the event. “I have stripped the car and worked on it well.”
Jinja has been a good hurting ground for Blick Jr, who will be navigated by wife Noella, as he won the same event in 2015 on his way to notching the National Rally Championship (NRC) title.
Three-time NRC winner Ssebuguzi and Leon Ssenyange in Mitsubishi Evolution X will hit the road first and will be followed Jas Mangat and Joseph Kamya in a similar car.
Ssebuguzi in his Evo X sponsored by Shell V-Power does not have a good record in Jinja as he dropped out during 2015 and 2016 events.


Ronald Ssebuguzi/ Leon Ssenyange (Evo X)
Jas Mangat/ Joseph Kamya (Evo X)
Christakis Fitidis/ Eric Nzamwita (Evo X)
S.Muwonge/ Edmund Kyeyune (Subaru N12B)
Unisan Bakunda./Umar Kakande (Evo IV)
Kephar Wakabi/ Anthony Mugambwa (Evo X)
Omar Mayanja/ Hessien Mukuye (Evo X)
Hassan Alwi/ Enoch Olinga (Subaru N14)
Rauf Adam/ Goerge Ssemakula (Evo X)
Dr Ashraf Ahmed/ Edward Kiyingi (Subaru N14)
Total: 289.98 km
CS: 179.38km
Transport: 119.48km