Tuesday March 4 2014

24 primary school heads demoted for poor PLE performance

By Fred Muzaale


Mukono District has demoted 24 primary head teachers over their schools’ poor performance in last year’s Primary Leaving Examinations (PLE).

The district education officer, Mr Vincent Balaza, said the schools failed to get at least one first grade and registered a number of failures.

The district scored only 2,045 first grades out of more than 10,000 candidates that sat for the examinations. “These head teachers exhibited a lot of incompetence. For three consecutive years they have been registering failures in their respective schools,” Mr Francis Lukooya, the LC5 chairperson, said. “The district executive committee meeting of February 18, recommended that these head teachers be removed from headship and demoted to teachers,” he added.

Mr Lukooya said 21 head teachers have also been told to deliver good results this year or face demotion.

The district has been among the best performing in national exams for several years. Mr Balaza said the district would continue to take punitive action against head teachers who fail to perform as expected. “We are going to increase supervision and inspection of schools to revive the district’s good performance,” he said.

However, some demoted head teachers, who preferred anonymity for fear of being victimised, said they were not solely to blame for the poor performance. “They should ask themselves whether parents, pupils, the government and other stakeholders are playing their roles,” a head teacher said.


Head teachers Schools
Dan Sseruli Ndese C/U
Mr Patrick Bwire St Jude Gaaza
Ms Florence Sanyu Namasumbi CoU
Cosmas Lubega Namasumbi RC PS
James Bogere Katoogo C/U PS
Willy Nshemereirwe Kyabazaala PS
Joseph Mubiru St Mulumba PS
David Kyazze Nakifuma C/U.
Mathias Ssekate Namina P/S
Farouq Nsamba Kalagala Mus PS
Betty Mirembe Nakaswa R/C
Teddy Dairo Kijjo R/C
Faridah Nantumbwe Nalubabwe Umea
Mariam NAmagulu Kazinga Umea
Othuba Opeda Gonve C/U
Abbey Muwanga Namanoga Umea
Rose Nabacwa Kalangalo PS
Mariam Nakato Kimenyedde Umea
Lawrence Bogere Nteete R/C
R. Ssendagala Kiribwa PS
Obaale Okuku Kyajja R/C
Haruna Kasiira Mayangayanga PS
Paul Bigambo Kanyogoga PS