Tuesday April 3 2018

Cabinet presents tax bills for 2018/19 financial year to Parliament

Minister of State for Planning, David Bahati

Minister of State for Planning, David Bahati. FILE PHOTO 

By Moses Kyeyune

The government has this afternoon tabled six tax bills for the next financial year.

The bills tabled by the Minister of State for Planning, David Bahati include; the Appropriations Bill, 2018; Finance (amendment) Bill, 2018; Income Tax Bill 2018; Value Added Tax Bill 2018; Excise Duty Tax 2018; as well as Stamp Duty Tax 2018.

Bahati had earlier indicated that the bills were not ready and asked for five minutes to finalise them.

When the matter came up on the Order Paper in the afternoon, the minister only apologised saying that there was a mishap.

“Rt Hon Speaker, I request for five minutes then I come back,” said Bahati.

The deputy speaker, Jacob Oulanyah looked on with desperation and asked; “Hon Minister what is it with these bills?”

Bahati replied, “I do apologise, there is some confusion which I’m correcting.”