Friday March 25 2016

DP courts Independents



The Democratic Party has summoned its top policy organs to discuss the fate of party members who stood as Independents in the just concluded general election.

DP vice president Fred Mukasa Mbidde said on Tuesday the party national council and the National Executive Committee will draw the agenda for any possible reconciliatory talks with members who defied the party.

In the recently concluded elections, DP members won in the various elective posts although they stood as Independents. These include Kampala Lord Mayor Erias Lukwago, Kawempe South MP Latif Ssebaggala, Rubaga South MP Kato Lubwama, Rubaga North MP Moses Kasibante, Mayor of Kawempe Division Emmanuel Serunjogi and Mayor of Kampala central Charles Musoke Serunjogi.

Mr Mbidde said when the party organs convene, they will chart a way forward.