Thursday July 10 2014

Expelled MPs: Supreme Court rules today on their continued stay in parliament

L-R Members of parliament  Banabus

L-R Members of parliament Banabus Tinkasimiire, Theodore Ssekikubo, Muhammed Nsereko and Wilfred Niwagaba, their fate is to be decided today by the Supreme court. FILE PHOTO 



The Supreme Court in Kampala is today(Thursday) expected to decide on the application in which four expelled NRM MPs are seeking to stay the implementation of the February 21 orders of the Constitutional Court which ordered them to vacate their seats in Parliament.
Court presided over by seven justices; Bart Katureebe, former Chief justice Benjamin Odoki, Galdino Okello, John Tsekooko, Christine Kitumba and Esther Kisaakye on Wednesday issued the ruling notice to the MPs.
Mr Theodore Ssekikuubo, who is among the applicants on Wednesday, confirmed receiving the notice through their lawyers.
“We are waiting for the ruling but it is setting us pace to prepare for hearing of our final appeal,” he said in an interview.
On February 21, this year, the Constitutional Court ordered MPs; Mr Sekikubo (Lwemiyaga), Mr Muhammed Nsereko (Kampala Central), Mr Wilfred Niwagaba (Ndorwa East) and Mr Barnabas Tinkasimire (Buyaga County) out of parliament and declared their seats vacant.
The court also ordered Speaker of Parliament, Ms Rebecca Kadaga to stop the MPs from accessing and or participating in Parliamentary activities. The court also ordered the Electoral Commission to organize fresh elections in the respective constituencies.
However, the MPs through their lawyers asked court to stay the implementation of the orders.