JSC promotes 30 officers

Share Bookmark Print Rating

Posted  Wednesday, January 15   2014 at  02:00

In Summary

The promotions come at a time after performance interviews conducted in December last year.


The Judicial Service Commission has promoted 30 judicial officers throughout the country as it seeks to enhance service delivery in the administration of justice.

The various promotions follow the performance they exhibited during interviews conducted in December last year. According to a press statement, the promoted officers are at the rank of deputy registrars, assistant registrars, chief magistrates and Grade One magistrates.

The promotions were effected by the commission in accordance with Article 148 of the Constitution that mandates it to appoint, confirm and exercise disciplinary proceedings against judicial officers.

Those promoted
Some of the promoted include; Irene Akankwasa, promoted to the rank of deputy registrar of the High Court from a chief magistrate. Ms Akankwasa has been the chief magistrate at the Anti-Corruption Court.

Ms Sarah Langa Siu of the Anti-Corruption Court is the other officer promoted to chief magistrate from Grade One senior principal magistrate.

Others are: Mr Samuel Emokor the personal assistant to former Chief Justice Benjamin Odoki. He has been promoted to the rank of chief magistrate, Mr Emmy Geoffrey Sayekwo has been promoted to the rank of Grade One senior principal from principal magistrate Grade One.
Mr Sayekwo has been working at LDC court.

According to the press release signed by Judiciary Assistant Public Relations Officer Araali Kagoro Muhiirwa, the promoted officers will soon be deployed to work in the High Court Registries and Chief Magisterial Areas throughout the country.

The Judiciary is one of the institutions that have high levels of insufficient supply of manpower, which has led to a situation of case backlogs across the country’s judicial systems.

Ms Harriet Ssali Nalukwago
Mr Fred Kenneth Waninda
Mr Tadeo Asiimwe
Mr Michael Gulamali Otto
Ms Lillian Mwandha
Mr Charles Emuria
Mr Deo Nizeyimana
Ms Irene Akankwasa
Ms Cissy Mudhasi Kawuma
Mr Godfrey Opifeni Angundia

Ms Julia Acio
Ms Deborah Wanume

Ms Sarah Langa Siu
Ms Flavia Nabakooza
Mr Samuel Emokor
Mr Godfrey Kawesa
Ms Beatrice Stella Atingu
Mr Alex Ajiji
Ms Mary Babirye
Ms Rosemary Bareebe
Ms Susan Abinyo
Ms Hellen Ajio
Mr Felix Omalla

Mr Francis Dawa Matenga
Ms Monica Amono
Ms Mary Kisakye Kaitesi
Mr Alex Karocho Mushabe
Mr Emmy Geoffrey Sayekwo
Ms Jolly Shanda Nkore

Mr Michael Lagara

About us Africa Review Nation Media Group NTV Uganda Mwananchi Web Mail Subscriptions Monitor Mobile Contact us Advertise with Us Terms of Use RSS