Wednesday February 24 2016

Kayunga MP loser blames Electoral Commission

By Fred Muzaale

Kayunga. Mr Patrick Nsanja, the incumbent Ntenjeru South MP in Kayunga District, who lost his seat in the just-concluded elections, has blamed his defeat on the Electoral Commission (EC) which he accused of basing on “forged results” to announce his rival’s win.

Ms Fred Baseke, an independent candidate, won the seat with 14,277 votes against Mr Nsanja’s 13,467 votes.
However, Mr Nsanja (NRM) complained that he tendered in declaration forms to Ms Ruth Nakacwa, the District Returning Officer, that showed that he was leading with a margin of 342 votes, which he says were rejected.
“I am considering taking legal action to challenge Mr Baseke’s victory because I cannot accept my victory to be stolen in broad daylight,” Mr Nsanja, who is serving his first term as MP, said.

Last weekend, after Mr Baseke was declared winner, Mr Nsanja’s supporters stormed the EC offices demanding it to declare their candidate winner.

However, police dispersed them and managed to arrest four who were later released.
When contacted, Mr Baseke asked his rival (Mr Nsanja) to honourably concede defeat and work with him to develop the area.

“He tried to rig by bringing result declaration forms that had forged signatures while others had not been signed but the EC rejected them,” Mr Baseke said.

Ms Nakacwa insisted Mr Baseke had won the election and dismissed claims by Mr Nsanja that his victory had been snatched.

Other winners in the district are Mr Amos Lugolobi (Ntenjeru North), Ms Idah Nantaba (Woman MP) and George Kumama (Bbale County)