Monday August 18 2014

Kyabazinga disbands cabinet

Busoga Kingdom Acting Kyabazinga Prince

Busoga Kingdom Acting Kyabazinga Prince David Kaunhe (R) and the speaker of the kingdom, Mr George Mutyabule. Photo by Denis Edema 


Jinja- The Acting Kyabazinga of Busoga, Chief Prince Daudi Kaunhe Wakooli, has made a dramatic U-turn and cancelled the appointment of former Fisheries Minister, as the Prime Minister (PM) of Busoga.

Mr Kaunhe Wakooli, revoked the appointment of Mr Fred Mukisa and the entire 17-man cabinet which he had appointed on July 15 during a Hereditary Chiefs’ Council meeting held at the Busoga Kingdom headquarters in Bugembe last Wednesday.

Mr Kaunhe Wakooli had named Mr Mukisa PM with Mr Wilberforce Bukonko and Gideon Lubale as Deputy PM and Second Deputy PM respectively.

The appointments sparked off protests among the rest of the members of the Royal Chiefs Council who accused Mr Kaunhe of acting unilaterally.

The chiefs, who threatened disciplinary action against Mr Kaunhe, said he had worked in violation of the constitution and overstepped his mandate.
In a turn of events during last Wednesday’s meeting, Mr Kaunhe issued a written statement in which he revoked the appointments and apologised to his peers in the Chiefs’ Council for acting unilaterally.

“I apologise for what I had done. I now present to you this letter signed by me cancelling the appointment of the entire cabinet in the interest of unity,” Mr Kaunhe announced as he handed over copies to his colleagues.

He said he will convene another meeting this week so that the Chiefs can discuss the appointment of an acceptable cabinet.

Efforts to talk to Mr Mukisa proved futile as his known mobile phones have been off since last Thursday, but Mr Moses Bakera who had been appointed Minister for Sports and Youth, said the decision would not be contested.

List of the disbanded cabinet

Alfred Okurut (Minister for Finance and Economic planning), Ahmed Osman Noor (Trade, Transport and Tourism), Elliot Munaba (Health), Meddy Dhakaba (Information), Florence Nadunga Kayemba (Attorney General), Joshua Kitakule (Industry and Technology), Cathy Nangobi (In Charge of Protocol in the Office of the Prime Minister), Jessica Rugazankuka (Gender and Elderly), Rashid Kimera Ndikabona (Housing and Chiefdoms), Ishaka Magemeso (Community Development and Protocol), Pastor Sam Mugote (Agriculture and Environment) and Fred Kasisa (Education, Youths and Sports).