Friday August 11 2017

Three nominated for Kaabong by-election

Campaigns. Supporters  of Ms Christine Nakwang

Campaigns. Supporters of Ms Christine Nakwang Tubo, one of the candidates who was nominated to contest for Kaabong Women MP seat. She is running as an independent candidate. PHOTO BY STEVEN ARIONG. 

By Steven Ariong

Kaabong. Three candidates have been nominated to contest for the Kaabong District Women Member of Parliament seat in the August 28 by-elections.
The contestants are Ms Christine Tubo Nakwang, an independent, Ms Rose Lily Akello of National Resistance Movement and Ms Judith Nalibe Adyaka who is running on the opposition Forum for Democratic Change ticket.
The three candidates were nominated last Tuesday by the Electoral Commission (EC) team.
Ms Nakwang was occupying the seat until she lost a court case in which her rival, Ms Akello, said the February 2016 general election was marred with irregularities.
While addressing the masses shortly after the nomination, Ms Nakwang, said she will win the seat again.
“Send me back to Parliament to continue pushing for better service delivery for the people of Kaabong and Uganda at large. With you, I will win again,” she said amid jubilation from the crowd.
The district returning officer, Ms Sarah Iyolu, warned candidates against use of abusive language during campaigns.
Mr Linos Okori, the regional EC supervisor for Karamoja sub-region, reechoed the warning saying use of abusive language amounts to an electoral offence and that it will not be tolerated.
“We have to harmonise the campaign programmes. We expect every candidate to have a peaceful campaign as we don’t want bloodshed,” he added.
Meanwhile heavily armed police and Uganda People’s Defence Forces soldiers were deployed at the nomination centre to avert violence by supporters of candidates.