Sunday August 20 2017

Hassan Alwi snatches Kabalega Rally win on the death

 Hassan Alwi missed out on the cham

Alwi clocked 01:51:12, beating Kikankane with a minute. File photo 

By Frederick Musisi Kiyingi


Hassan Alwi and Joseph Kamya in Subaru N14 became the first crew to win two National Rally Championships (NRC) this season. The crew sponsored by International University of East Africa snatched the win in the very last section after Duncan Kikankane's Subaru N14 failed to start in a section.

Alwi clocked 01:51:12, beating Kikankane with a minute. It was his second win after his triumph in the Mountain of the Moon Rally in Fort Portal in June.

Kikankane, by finishing second, strengthened his chances of a maiden National Rally Championship (NRC) title. He is 70ots behind Christakis Fitidis who came third.

The title will be decided during the Mosac Rally to be held in Mbale in November. Eleven cars finished the event out 33 which started on Saturday.