Thursday August 7 2014

Pearl will be duel between locals and foreigners

By Fredrick Musisi Kiyingi

KAMPALA-In the last 15 years of the Shell V-Power Pearl of Africa Uganda Rally, local drivers have enjoyed a narrow edge over foreign crew with eight victories to seven.

In the past three editions, locals Ponsiano Lwakataka (2011) and Jas Mangat (2013) have won the event. In between, Mohamed Essa (Zambia) triumphed on his way to the Africa Rally Championship (ARC) title.

This time round the stage is set for foreigners to show their mettle as Essa (Subaru N16) and Gary Chaynes (Evo X) from Ivory Coast battle for ARC supremacy. The two are separated by one point after five rounds.

But current national championship leader and two-time National Champion Ronald Ssebuguzi (Evo IX) is eyeing victory. “I have focused on winning this year’s event to strengthen my chances of taking the NRC title,” said the Shell sponsored driver. “It would also be good for the title sponsors.”

The event is sponsored by Vivo Energy (Shs100m) and Silver Springs Hotel (Shs82m).


1998- Charles Muhangi
1999- Muhangi
2000- Charlie Lubega
2001- Was not held
2002- John Gemmel (SA)
2003- Lubega
2004- Lubega
2005- Riyaz Kurji (Uganda)
2006- Kurji (Kenya)
2007- Conrad Rautenbach (Zimbabwe)
2008- Jamie Whyte (Zimbabwe)
2009- Kurji (Kenya, RIP)
2010- Whyte
2011- Ponsiano Lwakataka
2012- Muhammed Essa (Zambia)
2013- Jas Mangat