Monday May 5 2014

Ssebuguzi comes top in Masaka

By Fred Musisi kiyingi

It is five years since Ronald Ssebuguzi won the last of his two National Rally Championship (NRC) titles.
But by winning the MPU Masaka Rally on Sunday from a seemingly hopeless situation, it has put the Shell V-Power driver in a formidable position as he bids for the national title.

The ease with which Ssebuguzi in Mitsubishi Evo9 won the event, beating Duncan ‘Kikankane’ Mubiru with over five minutes does not give the whole story. After the first competitive section on Sunday, Ssebuguzi was in sixth position, eight minutes 30 seconds behind leader Wycliff Bukenya / George Ssemakula who were in a similar car.

“We had a puncture after 22km in the first section. We had an option of driving on the rim, but we still had about 40km to the finish. So we decided to change,” Ssebuguzi told Daily Monitor.

“Still we managed to win five out of six competitive sections of the event. Now we have to maintain our strategy of scoring in all the rounds.”
John Consta (Subaru N10), who dropped out with an overheating problem, won the other section.

Jonas Kansiime who powered his Subaru N10 to third place, stays second in the Championship race ahead ‘Kikankane’.

Peter Kakaire, sponsored by UTL, finished fourth while Leila Mayanja in a 2WD Toyota Allex, sponsored by Bidco, finished 13th.

Twenty one cars started the event on Saturday but only 14 finished the 287.82 km event.
Round four of NRC takes place on the weekend of June 4-6th.

How they finished in Masaka rally
1. R. SsebuguzI (EVO. 9) - 2:24:26
2. D. Mubiru (Subaru N14) - 2:29:40
3. J. Kansiime (Subaru N10) - 2:43:45
4. Peter Kakaire (Subaru N10) - 2:45:32
5. F. Wampamba (Subaru N8) - 2:47:11
6. Geoffrey Nsamba (EVO. 6) - 2:48:13
7. Nasser Mutebi (Subaru N8) - 2:52:01
8. Edson Mungyerez (Subaru) - 2:59:15
9. Wilbert Pole Pole (Subaru) - 3:02:10
10. “B. Widow” (Subaru N8) - 03 3:06