Other Sport

Battle lines drawn for Pepsi Schools Week

Share Bookmark Print Rating

Posted  Friday, August 8   2014 at  14:53

In Summary

Cricket. This year’s tourney will be played on a Twenty20 format with the morning games starting at 9am whereas the afternoon matches scheduled for 2pm.


The future generation of Uganda cricket takes center stage when the Pepsi Schools Cricket Week gets underway today with the 12 schools in the fray reporting host-school Makerere College School.
Defending champions Mukono Parents will be favourites to retain their title considering their recent form which saw them overwhelm Kololo Secondary School in the final of the Central Region qualifiers.
Action proper gets underway tomorrow at four grounds including Lugogo, Kyambogo, Budo Astro-turf and Budo grass.
The other schools in the fray include; Aga Khan High School, Kyambogo College, King’s College Budo (all from Central region), Jinja SS, Busoga College Mwiri, Busoga High School, St James SSS Jinja (from Eastern Region, Nyakasura School, St Leo’s College Kyegobe (from Western region) and Masaka Secondary School from the Masaka Region.
Last year’s runners-up Jinja SSS will also be fancying their chances of reclaiming the title after they brought down Busoga College Mwiri in the finals of the Eastern Region qualifiers.
Fourty two schools took part in the qualifiers and Australia-based Bankstown Cricket Club are the co-sponsors of this year meet.

2002 - Jinja Secondary School
2003 - Busoga College Mwiri
2004 - Busoga College Mwiri
2005 - Busoga College Mwiri
2006 - Kololo SS
2007 - Kololo
2008 - Kololo
2009 - Busoga College Mwiri
2010 - Kololo
2011 - Kololo
2012 – Kololo
2013 – Mukono Parents
2014 - ???


About us Africa Review Nation Media Group NTV Uganda Mwananchi Web Mail Subscriptions Monitor Mobile Contact us Advertise with Us Terms of Use RSS