Tuesday January 7 2014

Kiprotich leading candidate for 2013 Nile-Uspa award

Kiprotich smiles for the cameras with his two awards at the 2012 Nile Special-Uspa

Kiprotich smiles for the cameras with his two awards at the 2012 Nile Special-Uspa gala held last year. The World and Olympic champion is among the winners for the 2013 gala to be held later in the year. Photo by I. kezaala 

By Abdu Wasike

Kampala- Uganda Sports Press Association will once again flash the spotlight on the outstanding sports personalities of 2013 at a glamorous ceremony to be held in April.
The actual date and venue are yet to be confirmed but that should be of little worry as a five-star treatment thanks to sponsors Nile Special and Rwenzori is certain.

Again athletics’ supremacy is bound to continue as Stephen Kiprotich leads a list of three candidates for the 2013 main award.

The marathoner who won Uganda gold at the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) Moscow 2013 Men’s Marathon in Russia made the shortlist that also includes rally driver ace Jas Mangat and basketballer-cum- netballer Peace Proscovia.

Volleyball player George Aporu, badminton ace Shamim Bangi, multi-faceted Ibrahim Kongo, lady golfer Flavia Namakula, woodball player Lillian Zawedde among others all retained their individual accolades after strong showings in second straight years.
City Oilers, winner of their first league title on their debut, She Cranes, MTN Heathens, Nemostars, Cricket’s National Ladies U-19 team and Uganda Cranes (Chan team) will compete for the team of the year diadem.

There was some consolation for dropped left-hand opening batsman Arthur Kyobe. Uspa differed from cricket selectors opting for statistics as Kyobe edged national skipper Davis Karashani 11-3 to the male cricketer of the year.

Sports disciplines like hockey and Ludo that were previously on the list were scrapped off having held few events during the calendar year. Bodybuilding was restored this time.

In all, 26 disciplines were recognized. All the winners will receive their plaques at the awards’ dinner.

The meeting also voted the Uganda national netball team She Cranes as Nile-Uspa sports personality for December for winning the Six Nations Netball championship at the eighth edition of the invitational competition after edging hosts Singapore 52-29 in the final.

Sports personality of the year shortlist
Stephen Kiprotich
Peace Proscovia
Jas Mangat
*Winner to be announced at the Gala
Team of the year shortlist
City Oliers
She Cranes
MTN Heathens
Ladies Cricket Team
Uganda Cranes Chan tea)
*Winner to be announced at the Gala
Male – Stephen kiprotich
Female – Juliet Chekwel
Male – Herbert Ebayo
Female – Shamim Bangi
Table tennis
Male – Kevin Mafabi
Female – Amina Lukaaya
Female – Flavia Namakula
Male – Willy Kitata
Male – Arthur Kyobe
Female – Prico Nakitende
Female – Ritah Ninsiima
Male – Fahad Ssewakambo
Male – Martin Emoku
Female – Joyce Bako
Male – Joel Odopa
Female – Lillian Zawedde
Male – Michael Wokorach
Female – Brenda Kayiyi
Male – Jimmy Enabu
Female – Peace Proscovia
Male – Elijah Emojong
Female – Sharon Twongyeire
Male – George Aporu
Female – Maureen Mwamula
Male – Mathias Okwi
Female – Dina Amoding
Men - Ibrahim Kongo
Women - Harriet Apaku
Men – Semei Kasumba
Women – Becky Namusoke
Women - Peace Proscovia
Men - Ibrahim Kongo
Kickboxer – Moses Golola
Swimmer – Namutebi Kirabo
Squash - Michael Kawooya
Boxer -Joseph Lubega
Footballer – Daniel Sserunkuma
Motocross - Fortune Sentamu
Tennis – Duncan Mugabe
Bodybuilder – Ivan Byekwaso
Cycling - Leon Twaha
Rally crew of the year - Jas Mangat and Gihan De Silva