Friday February 26 2016

Heathens, Kobs to face off after postponement

The influential Ecodu will be key for Kobs today

The influential Ecodu will be key for Kobs today. Photo by E. Chicco  


KAMPALA- As hundreds of fans made their way to Legends RFC last Friday to catch the highly anticipated Nile Special Premiership clash between Hima Cement Heathens and Betway Kobs, news of its postponement due to suspected post-election chaos in select areas in the city filtered through from Lugogo.

An earlier communication from the Uganda Rugby Union stated that the mouth-watering game would be pushed to March 2 but after consultations, they decided the game should be played today.

The delay of the game has benefited Kobs as they have two influential players in Brian Odongo and Joseph Aredo back; both would have missed the game due to injury had it been played last week.

But captain Odongo does not think his absence and Aredo’s last week would have affected his team. “In sport you need a backup plan because all players can never be available all the time,” the player who doubles as national team skipper noted.

“Even if the game had been played last week, we would have still put in a good shift.”

Heathens disappointed
Heathens were oozing with confidence and were more than disappointed when they learnt that the game had been called off last week.

“We wanted the game done and dusted so that we could start planning for second round early enough; the postponement was a setback but everything is sorted and we can’t wait to play them,” Heathens’ Romano Ogwal told Daily Monitor.

Only a point separates the two with the season headed for a two-week break. Kobs are on 38 points with arch rivals Heathens a point behind.

Team line ups
Hima Cement Heathens
Asuman Mugerwa, Alex Mubiru, Santos Wycliffe, Romano Ogwal, Kato Ambrose, Mathias Ochwo, Roland Bahendeka, Athiyo Muhammad, Brian Kikaawa, Aaron Ofoirwot, Bishop Onen, Evans Kingasia Michael Wokorach, Lawrence Ssebuliba, Phillip Wokorach

Betway Kobs
Brian Odongo, Cyrus Wathum, Collins Kimbowa, Ambrose Kakuru, Victor Wadia, Brian Asaba, Alhaji Manano, Ramazan Govulle, Davis Kyewalabye, James Ijongat, Micheal Amolo, Alfred Karekaho Oscar Kalyango, Emmanuel Ecodu, Joseph Aredo