Monday January 1 2018

Sebastien, Cranes to meet Museveni

Breaking A Jinx. Uganda Cranes coach Sebastian

Breaking A Jinx. Uganda Cranes coach Sebastian Desabre wants nothing but victory over Lesotho.  



The Uganda Cranes will tomorrow meet President Yoweri Museveni  at his country home in Rwakitura before heading out to Morocco on Thursday for Africa Nations Championships (Chan).
Fufa communications manager Hussein Ahmed confirmed the development yesterday as the 27-man team entered residential camp at Africa Bible University in Lubowa. 
“It’s always a great moment for the fountain of honour to meet the citizens of his country more so the institution running football in the country and Uganda Cranes ahead of a big championship,” said Ahmed.
“His Excellency loves and follows football. He will offer some good pep talk to the players.”
The final squad will be reduced further to 23 players for the final submission to Caf by January 3. 
“For now it is only the three goalkeepers;  Isma Watenga, Benjamin Ochan and Saidi Keni guaranteed of slots on the plane to Morocco,” Ahmed said.
“The other players are still undergoing medical tests but by Tuesday we will release the final team.”
The trip to Rwakitura will provide the new Cranes head coach Desabre Sebastien with his first chance to meet President Museveni whose government will foot part of his salary.
The 41-year-old Frenchman, unveiled on a three-year contract last week, appreciated the football talent at his disposal after conducting his first two training sessions at Luzira grounds but warned the players about their fighting spirit.
“Character will be a key element for the entire team,” said Sebastian. “But I am happy with the quality I have seen already.”

2018 chan - group fixtures

JAN 14: Zambia vs. Uganda
JAN 18: Uganda vs. Namibia
JAN 22: Uganda vs. Cote d’Ivoire

Cranes 27-MAN SQUAD IN CAMP: Isma Watenga, Benjamin Ochan, Saidi Keni, Nicolas Wadada, Joseph Nsubuga, Timothy Awanyi, Mustapha Mujuzi, Bernard Muwanga, Isaac Muleme, Aggrey Madoi, Mustapha Kizza, Milton Karisa, Godfrey Lwesibawa, Paul Mucureezi, Allan Kyambadde, Seif Batte, Rahmat Ssenfuka, Taddeo Lwanga, Abubaker Kasule, Moses Waiswa, Juma Sadam, Muzamir Mutyaba, Tom Masiko, Muhammad Shaban, Derrick Nsibambi, Nelson Ssenkatuka and Daniel Isiagi.