Otada wins Kibanda County MP seat

Sunday February 20 2011

By Francis Mugerwa


The Kibanda County MP, Mr Sam Otada (independent), has been declared winner of the hotly contested race. According to the parliamentary results declared this morning by the district returning officer, Mr Raymond Kisarale, he defeated Mr George Baitera Maiteki, the NRM flag bearer and FDC’s Hakim Muhumuza. He had lost the NRM primaries to Mr Maiteki and decided to seek re-election as an independent.

Mr Otada polled 19,731 votes(51.25 per cent) while Mr Baitera obtained 16,406(42.6 per cent). Mr Joseph Obiling Elou (independent) polled 856 (2.22 per cent) and Mr Muhumuza 1,510 (3.92 per cent).

NRM’s Hellen Kahunde became the first Woman MP for Kiryandongo District, which was curved out of Masindi District. She got 18,975 votes (49.79 per cent) and was closely trailed by Ms Florence Enid (independent), who polled 6,537 votes (17.15 per cent).

Ms Alice Kasangaki (independent) attained 5,354 votes (14.05 per cent), FDC’s Jane Abola garnered 3,174 votes (8.33 per cent) while Edith Adyeeri Aliguma polled 4,073 votes (10.69 per cent).

President Museveni obtained 30,829 (78.85 per cent), Dr Besigye polled 5,195 votes(13.29 per cent), UFA’s Beti Kamya got 125 votes (0.32 per cent), PPP’s Jaberi Bidandi Ssali got 181 votes (0.46 per cent), DP’s Nobert Mao got 1,286 votes (3.29 per cent), UPC’s Olara Otunnu got 1,070 votes (2.74 per cent), PDP’s Dr Abed Bwanika polled 195 votes (0.50 per cent).