Ajok in last chance saloon to make CWG

Saturday March 3 2018





The window leading Dorcus Ajok to qualify for the Gold Coast Commonwealth Games is perilously close to slamming shut.
Today’s National Time Trials at Mandela National Stadium, Namboole, is the last chance for her to earn the right to be selected to represent Uganda in April.
For the Ndejje University student, Ajok must now beat the required time 2:01.50 or be frozen out of the 1,500m event.
Her compatriot, Halima Nakaayi, opted to qualify from South Africa where she took part in the money minting Athletix Grand Prix Meeting in Ruimsig Stadium, Johannesburg, on Thursday leaving Ajok without any pace setter.
“It’s going to be tough since I will not have a pace setter with Nakaayi’s absence but it’s down to me now,” she said.
Nasiba Nabirye, who is expected to test Ajok, is a distant 10 seconds in the qualification battle and it remains to be known whether a sprinter will again set the pace.

Required times
But Ajok is not the only athlete battling to qualify. Scovia Ayikoru came close to sealing her place when she ran 11.83 but it was slower than the required 11.50 in the 100m. Her other chance is in the 200m where she ran 24.29, which was slower than the 23.40 entry requirement. She is also closer in the 400m race. Now it will be a matter of how she plans her races.
If Stella Chesang runs faster, she will, too be able to make the grade in the 5,000 metres after coming so close last week but the lack of competition cannot enable Peruth Chemutai to qualify in steeplechase.
Pius Adome still has hopes of making the team in the 100 and 200 metres so is Ali Ngaimoko who came closer in the 400 metres last week.
There is no hope in the field events going by the previous trials.
The Gold Coast Commonwealth Games are scheduled for April 4-15.
Men: Jackson Kiprop (marathon), Thomas Ayeko (marathon), Solomon Mutai (marathon), Alex Chesakit (marathon), Moses Kipsiro (marathon), Robert Chemonges (marathon), Stephen Kiprotich (marathon), Ezekiel Chepkorom (marathon), Albert Chemutai (3000m SC), Joshua Cheptegei (5000m/10,000m), Jacob Kiplimo (5000m/10,000m) and Timothy Toroitich (10,000m).
Women: Winnie Nanyondo (1500m), Mercyline Chelangat (10,000m) and Shida Leni (400m).