Losers contest poll results

Friday September 3 2010

By Dail y Monitor Team

At least four defeated NRM senior cadres are contesting the outcome of the parliamentary and local council party elections, saying they were marred by malpractices.

Some of the candidates have petitioned the party election body while others intend to stand as independents in the general elections next year.

The Bufumbira East MP and Ethics Minister Nsaba Butoro, who was defeated by Mr Eddie Kwizera Wa-Gahungu, Mr David Ndibirize, who lost to Rubabo County MP, Ms Paula Turyahikayo and Ms Winfred Matsiko (Rukungiri Woman), have all indicated that they will petition the party election body for redress.

Results rejected
Shortly before the results were announced at Kisoro District Council Hall yesterday, Mr Buturo went on a local radio contesting the results.
He argued that the results from Bukimbiri and Nyundo Sub-Counties were fraught with several irregularities that needed to be sorted out before the final winner is declared.

The Minister said elections in his constituency should be repeated.
Kisoro NRM returning officer, Mr Herbert Nsabimana, advised dissatisfied candidates to petition the NRM Electoral Commission.
The State Minister for Local Government, Mr Perez Ahabwe, who lost his Rubanda East seat to Mr Henry Musasizi has contested the results, saying the polls were full of malpractices.

In Isingiro, by yesterday evening vote tallying was still ongoing for Isingiro North, Bukanga County while in Isingiro South where voting took place in one sub-county of Ruborogota, the aspirants rejected the outcome.


Two of the aspirants; Kihika Buruki-Baraka and Jeff Rwakanuma yesterday told a press conference in Mbarara that they had petitioned the party’s electoral body. Results from Ruborogota indicated that the incumbent, Mr Alex Byarugaba, was leading with 2,769 votes against Mr Rwakanuma’s 2,076.

The candidates want a repeat of the voting exercise, arguing that Mr Byarugaba was involved in vote rigging.