FDC's Amuriat sacks Leader of Opposition Winfred Kiiza - Daily Monitor

FDC's Amuriat sacks Leader of Opposition Winfred Kiiza

Friday August 3 2018

Ms Winnie Kiiza

Ms Winnie Kiiza  

Ms Winifred Kiiza was Friday dropped as Leader of Opposition in Parliament (LoP) in a reshuffle by Party President Patrick Amuriat.

Ms Aol Ochan, the Gulu Woman MP is now the LoP.

The LoP who is elected by the party with the greatest numerical strength in Parliament, appoints and heads an alternative Shadow Cabinet whose duty is to challenge and influence government legislation on the floor of Parliament.

and is accorded the status of a Cabinet Minister.

In the reshuffle, Kawempe South MP, Mr Mubarak Munyagwa has replaced Mr Abdu Katuntu as the chairperson of the committee on Commissions, Statutory Authorities and State Enterprises.  Rubaga North MP Moses Kasibante will deputise Mr Munyagwa.

Democratic Party’s Betty Nambooze has been appointed as the Commonwealth Parliament Association Representative while Mr Roland Kaginda, the Rukungiri Municipality MP is  the head of the Inter-Parliamentary Union.

Mr Nandala Mafabi, the party secretary general, who once served as the chairman of the Public Accounts Committee has bounced back as the head of the accountability committee.

Kira Municipality MP, Ssemujju Ibrahim Nganda, who is also the party spokesman has retained his post as Opposition Chief Whip.

Mr Francis Mwijukye, the Buhweju county MP, has been appointed Commissioner of Parliament replacing Dokolo Districk Woman MP, Ms Cecilia Ogwal.

Mr Fungaroo Kaps Hassan, the Obongi County MP is now the chairperson of Government Assurance Committee and will be deputised by Mr Michael Kabaziguruka, the Nakawa MP.

Most MPs who have been replaced supported former party president Gen Mugisha Muntu during last year’s fiercely contested party elections. Gen Muntu lost to Mr Amuriat.