Kayunga top leaders lose in NRM primary elections - Daily Monitor

Kayunga top leaders lose in NRM primary elections

Monday October 19 2015

By Fred Muzaale

Kayunga. Majority incumbent Sub-county chairpersons in Kayunga District have been defeated in the NRM party primaries.
In the party polls conducted recently and supervised by the NRM electoral commission chairperson, Mr Tanga Odoi, out of the eight sub-county chairpersons - all of them NRM supporters, only two won in the party primaries. Surprisingly, all losers support Mr Moses Karangwa, the newly elected NRM chairperson for Kayunga District.

Those who lost include Mr Shaban Magomo, the Nazigo Sub-county chairperson, Mr Abdul Kawulukusi (Kangulumira Sub-county), Mr Fred Mpanga ( Bbaale Sub-County), Mr Esperito Tudde ( Kayonza Sub-county), Ms Florence Nanunge ( Busaana Sub-county) and Mr Lugard Salabwa (Kayunga Sub-county). Those who won include Mr Jamada Musana (Galilaaya Sub-county) and Mr Isaac Kanzari (Kitimbwa Sub-county).

Interestingly, all the new entrants who defeated incumbents support Ms Aidah Nantaba, the Lands state minister. Ms Nantaba is also Kayunga Woman MP. She lost the district NRM chairperson seat to Mr Karangwa.
However, the losers have vowed to quit NRM, citing intrigue and harassment of their supporters during the campaigns. “How can all of us lose. This is something that should worry NRM leaders,” said Mr Shaban Magomo.
Ms Oliva Matama, the Kayunga NRM administrator, however, said the elections were free and fair.