Minister Muhwezi beaten in Rujumbura,  Fungaroo retains Obongi - Daily Monitor

Minister Muhwezi beaten in Rujumbura,  Fungaroo retains Obongi

Saturday February 20 2016


NATIONWIDE- Information and National Guidance Minister Maj. Gen Jim Muhwezi has lost the Bujumbura County seat to Mr Fred Turyamuhweza of the Forum for Democratic Change.

 Mr Turyamutunga polled 1, 6859 votes while Gen. Muhwezi got 1, 4587 votes.

 Mr Julius Muhurizi who lost to Gen. Muhwezi in NRM primaries and contested as an independent polled 2,758 votes.

Mr Turyamuhweza lost twice to Gen. Muhwezi  in 2006 and 2011 parliamentary elections.

 The delay to announce the winners in Rukungiri  District prompted chaos at the district headquarters where the votes were being tallied forcing Gen. Muhwezi’s body guard to fire in the air to disperse a rowdy crowd. The crowds accused Gen. Muhwezi of trying to rig the elections.

Mr Roland Kaginda Mugume retained Rukungiri Municipality seat with 6,997 votes beating NRM’s Dr Elisa Rutahigwa who got 5,521 votes.

In Rubabo County, the incumbent and NRM candidate Mary Paula Kebirungi Turyahikayo got 18,889 votes beating Mr David Ndindirize ( 1,437 votes).   FDC’s  Richard Mugyenzi Kifaku got 4,462 votes while Mr Peter Mugisha got 220.

The district woman MP seat was taken by NRM’s Winnie Mastiko . She polled 58,994 votes beating FDC’s Betty Muzanira Bamukwatse who got 54,966 votes.

In Moyo, Mr Hassan Kaps Fungaroo, the Obongi County MP has retained his seat.

Mr Fungaroo, who has represented the area since 2006, defeated NRM Moses Anyama.

Mr Fungaroo got 4,045 votes, while Mr   Anyama of the NRM got 3,112 votes.