Teso cultural leader dissolves cabinet

Monday November 18 2019
new1 pic

Appointed. The members of the council who will help him (Emorimor) run the institution as they wait for the new cabinet.

The Emorimor of the Iteso Cultural Institution (ICU), Mr Augustine Osuban, has dissolved his cabinet.
Mr Osuban undertook the initiative on Saturday after alleged attempts by some cabinet ministers to oust him.
The Emorimor named 125 members of council from different parts of Teso, who will henceforth run the affairs of the institution as they wait for a new cabinet.
The cabinet has been under the leadership of Mr Paul Sande Emolot of Tororo District as the prime minister deputised by Mr Gabriel Itela of Kenya and Mr Vance Omome of Amuria District.
Others, are Mr Peter Etyang, the minister for agriculture and cooperatives, Ms Freda Ocen, the minister for community development, Valerian Ejalu Education, Mr Emmanuel Maseke, the minister for planning and economic development, Dr John Opolot, for health, Mr Sauce Opak, the minister for information, Mr Stephen Enokokin, the minister for lands, environment and natural resources, and Mr Nathan Isenged Okia, the minister in charge of youth.
Mr Osuban said there have been infights in the past and hopes the inauguration of the new council members will bring harmony.
“The wrangles have been internal, we will have them solved,” the Emorimor said, adding that they will undertake an “in-house cleaning”.
The Emorimor made the changes to his cabinet with the help of the Grade One Magistrate, Ms Peace Elizabeth Lamunu, who is attached to Soroti magistrate circuit.
Ms Lamunu challenged the newly appointed members not to taint the name of the institution.
Earlier on, Mr Emolot and Mr Omome are said to have had vested interests to replace the head of ICU, but the two denied the claims.