UPC man uproots minister Engola in Erute South

Friday February 19 2016

Mr Jonathan Odur cast

Mr Jonathan Odur cast his vote 


NATIONWIDE-Housing state minister Sam Engola has been beaten in the parliamentary election for Erute South in Lira District.

The two-time NRM MP lost his seat to Uganda People’s Congress (UPC) candidate, Mr Jonathan Odur, according to the results of the Thursday’s election.

Mr Odur beat the NRM politician in four sub-counties, including Agali, Amach, Ngetta and Adekokwok. Mr Engola, however, trounced Mr Odur in Barr Sub-county. According to the results, UPC’s Odur got 28,855 votes against Mr Engola’s 24,558 votes.

Energy Minister Ms Irene Muloni [NRM has been defeated by Ms Sarah Wekomba, an independent candidate.  

Ms Wekomba scored 20,805 votes against Ms Muloni’s 20240 votes to become the Bulambuli district Woman MP.

Ms Muloni is the incumbent MP.

In Otuke, the district registrar of the Electoral Commission, Ms Doreen Akullo, has declared NRM’s Silvia Akello winner of the District Woman parliamentary seat. Ms Akello polled 19,009 votes, accounting for 63.74% of the total votes cast. She was followed by Ms Susan Joy Abeja (Independent candidate), who got 8,111 (27.16%).

In Amolatar, the provisional results show that the National Resistance Movement candidate Ms Doreen Amule was in the early lead for the district woman parliamentary seat. Ms Amule, who fetched 20,412 votes, was running neck to neck with Ms Agnes Atim Apea (Independent).

Meanwhile in Kyoga County, still in Amolatar, incumbent NRM MP Anthony Okello was leading with 21,729 votes, according to the provision results.

In Dokolo District, the two-time Woman MP Cecilia Atim Ogwal has retained her seat, according to the results declared on Friday. Ms Ogwal of the Forum for Democratic Change swept 30,765 votes, representing 57.21% of the total votes cast. Ms Ogwal trounced her closest rival of the NRM Beatrice Abang who polled 12,486 (23.22%).

In Apac, the wife to Mr Sam Engola- Ms Betty Engola, was leading in Apac for the district woman MP seat, according to the provisional results.

In Lira Municipal Council, the two-time UPC MP Jimmy Akena Obote was leading in all the four divisions of Adyel, Ojwina, Railways and Central. He was being followed by NRM’s Pollar Awich.