JKL Women Champions

Friday December 13 2019

Focused. Evelyn Nakiyinji of JKL Lady Dolphins

Focused. Evelyn Nakiyinji of JKL Lady Dolphins aims for the basket agaist UCU Lady Canons during their final game that JKL won 62-55 to defend the championship at the MTN Arena, Lugogo. Below, JKL captain Flavia Oketchoposes with the team championship troph. Photo by Ismail Kezaala.. 

By Elvis Senono

It is now no flash in the pan. JKL Lady Dolphins are the best team in the women’s National Basketball League.
This is after they claimed a 62-55 overtime win over UCU Lady Canons in the decisive game seven that clinched a 4-3 series win.
They consequently became only the third team to defend the ladies’ title, a feat only previously managed by the Lady Bucks and UCU.
The feat is one of many that will hurt the latter for the next 12 months after they wasted an opportunity to wrap up the series in game six that JKL edged 51-50 following a 13-1 run in the final three minutes.

Game seven was a lot closer with UCU forcing overtime after Zainah Lokwemeri converted one of two free-throws with under 53 seconds on the clock of what was then a tense end-to-end encounter.
But there always seemed an inevitability about the result particularly with JKL consisting a number of former UCU players and vastly experienced roster that includes Flavia Oketcho who has now won eight championships.

Another of the former UCU players Ritah Imanishimwe, who now has five consecutive championship titles to her name, scored four of her 10 points in overtime against her former teammates who again struggled to contain Hope Akello.
The center scored 18 points and picked 16 rebounds before fouling out late in the fourth quarter.

Stella Oyella picked as many rebounds with nine points for JKL who led for large periods in the decider.
Zainah Lokwameri top scored with 17 points and Rose Akon added 13 for UCU who had won the previous three consecutive titles before JKL.
With captain Sarah Ageno (who had a quiet evening with nine points and five rebounds by her standard) set to depart and with JKL as the rumoured destination, the ladies game like their male counterparts, could be headed for a period of total dominance.

Past winners
2019- Lady Dolphins
2018-JKL Lady Dolphins
2017- UCU Lady Canons
2016 – UCU Lady Canons
2015 – UCU Lady Canons
2014 - KCCA Leopards
2013 – UCU Lady Canons
2012 – KCCA Leopards
2011 - UCU Lady Canons
2010 – UCU Lady Canons
2009 – KCCA Leopards
2008 – UCU Lady Canons
2007 – KCCA Leopards
2006 – Lady Bucks
2005 – A1 Challenge
2004 – Lady Bucks
2003 – Makerere Sparks
2002 – Lady Bucks
2001 – Lady Bucks
2000 – Lady Bucks
1999 – Lady Bucks
1998 – Lady Bucks