Okello, Nansikombi awarded as basketball’s best in 2018

Wednesday April 10 2019

MVP.  James Okello (L) and Jamila Nansikombi

MVP. James Okello (L) and Jamila Nansikombi (R) were deservedly picked as the respective male and female MVPs. PHoTOS: I. KEZAALA 


KAMPALA. City Oilers coach Mandy Juruni was undecided when asked who among James Okello, Jimmy Enabu and Josh Johnson deserved the MVP title in the immediate aftermath of their sixth title triumph in October.
The same trio were shortlisted six months later by domestic basketball governing body Fuba as the season awards returned in style at Kabira Country Club after a five year absence.

Early pick
And unlike the City Oilers coach went for Okello as the 2018 playoff MVP.
The award, the biggest of the night was perhaps just reward for his durability as the longest serving player at the club.
“He’s the soul of the club, loyal and dependable,” his manager Mohamed Santur said of the power forward who started out with the club in 2011.
He has thereafter been part of the Oilers machine that has romped to six straight championships.
He was also the most consistent performer among the trio averaging 12.4 points in the 4-1 final playoff series triumph over Betway Power.
Landry Ndikumana who also won the regular season MVP award on the other hand averaged 11.2 points with Enabu and Johnson tied on 10.6 in the five games.

Straight forward
While the men’s MVP race was debatable, the women’s playoff MVP award was straight forward with Jamila Nansikombi heads and shoulders above JKL Ladies teammates Ritah Imanishimwe and Flavia Oktecho.
The trio helped JKL to their first ever National Basketball League title dethroning UCU Lady Canons.
City Oilers predictably dominated the awards with Juruni winning the coach of the year award having also played a technical role in JKL Ladies triumph.


MVP playoffs
*NBL men – James Okello– City Oilers
*NBL Women – Jamilah Nansikombi
Most Outstanding performance
*Brenda Ekon – Points per game (Nkumba)
MVP – Regular season
*NBL Men - Landry Ndikumana – City Oilers
*NBL women - Brenda Ekon– Nkumba
*Div 1 Men – Fayed Bbale– Rez Life
*Div 1 Women – Laeticia Awor – Muk Sparks
*D-league men – Kutai Gatwech – IUEA
League Top scorers:
*D league – Kutai Gatwech (IUEA) – 253 points
*Div 1 Men – Bbale Fayed (Rez Life) – 301 points
*Div 1 Women – Leticia Awor (MUK Sparks) – 298
*NBL Women –Brenda Ekone (Nkumba) – 546
*NBL Men – Landry Ndikumana (City Oilers) – 442
Coach of the year:
*NBL – Mandy Juruni (City Oilers)
*Lower Div – Albert Aciko (MUK Sparks)
Best Manager:
*Carol Kisukye – A1 Challenge
Most improved team: *Women – MUK Sparks
*Men – KU *D. League – IUEA