Only five team slots remaining in Tusker Malt Lager Golf Series

Wednesday February 6 2019

 Koowe (L) scooped the overall lady w

Koowe (L) scooped the overall lady winner’s accolade. PHOTO BY EDDIE CHICCO 


KAMPALA- Two home pairings comprising of Samson Agamire and Johnson Dairo, Richard Lutwama and Robert Busingye alongside one from Uganda Golf Club (UGC) of Wahab Atibu and William Mutyaba earned tickets to the grand finale of the Tusker Malt Lager (TML) Golf Series scheduled for later this month.

The Palm Valley Golf Resort and Country Club in Akright Kakungulu hosted the fourth leg of the TML Series and the scramble for slots continued as the pairings and individuals continue to push for the grand prize – a fully paid trip to the luxurious Pattaya Golfing Resort. The prize will be for the best male, female and top two teams of two players each.

The three teams join the 14 that had already made the grade from the first leg (UGC), second leg (Mbarara Sports Club), third leg (Tooro), fourth leg (Jinja) and fifth leg (Palm Valley) – thus only five slots remain for the team pairings of two. Those five slots will be taken up by the best teams from the Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort (LVSGR) Kigo leg scheduled for this month.

Agamire and Dairo dominated the day with 50 points, Lutwama and Busingye tallied 46 points to edge UGC’s Atibu and Mutyaba (46) on countback at a closely-contested leg that basked in glory with an electrifying ‘19th hole’.

Other golfers who continued to amass crucial points that could count to winning one of the two tickets for individual performances, included George Kituku who returned 37 points and Lilian Koowe whose 34 points won her an Overall Lady Winner’s prize (a weekend for two at Bulago Island) from co-sponsors MTN.

CBA, Shell, Lets Go Travel, Kenya Ports Authority, Pepsi, Serena Hotels, Ethiopian Airlines and Shell are also partners of the TML Series that will run for 17 weeks including seven legs and hosted at six golf courses.


Samson Agamire/Johnson Dairo 50 points
Richard Lutwama/Robert Busingye 46 points c/b
Wahab Atibu/William Mutyaba 46 points
Overall Lady
Lilian Koowe 34 points
Group winners - Men
A: Ibra Bagalana 38 points
B: Samson Agamire 39 points
C: Johnson Dairo 38 points
Group winners – Ladies
A: Resty Nalutaaya 32 points
B: Godlive Nayebare 29 points