Kilembe’s Kisande breaks JBG duck

Tuesday October 8 2019

Winners. JBG Open top players Stefan Krisch

Winners. JBG Open top players Stefan Krisch (left), Andrew Kibaya (2nd left) and Joel Mukhanji (right) pose with the overall winner of the JBG Open tournament, Habib Kisande (2nd right) after the tournament at Entebbe Club, October 5 2019. Photo by Eddie Chicco 


Habib Kisande of the Kilembe Mines Golf Club left Entebbe Golf Club on Saturday a contented man. He had won the 22nd edition of the JBG Open after falling short on previous attempts.

“This is one of the tournaments I have been longing to win,” said the elated Kisande. “I missed out last year and decided to head back home and come up with a plan which worked today,” added the 2014 Hima Open champion.
The 24 year old managed 41 stable ford points, beating the rest of the playing field to his first championship since the Hima Open in 2014.

Kisande made four birdies on the back nine which put him on course. Despite being in pole position, Kisande almost threw it all away at the 17th hole with a double bogey. “I had to recover with a birdie at hole 18 after that mistake at hole 17 and that helped me a lot,” added Kisande.

Christopher Baguma emerged gross winner at the expense of Godfrey Nsubuga. Jerome Ogola, Andrew Kibaya and Nathan Mubiru took groups A, B and C respectively. Ogola fended off Stefan Krisch’s challenge while Kibaya and Mubira got the better of Geoffrey Orach and Patrick Drate correspondingly.

In the ladies category, UBL’s Annete Nakiyaga was a class apart to win the category on 38 points.
Caroline Namutebi and Yu Feng won group A and B while Serwano Walusimbi and Peace Kabasweka registered the longest drives.

The professionals had a fitting run in with close results as Richard Baguma (215) beat a vibrant line up of Deo Akope (217), Phillip Kasozi (219), Silver Opio (219) and Ronald Rugumayo (219).


Roll of Honour

1998 – Joshua Tuhumwire
1999 – Stephen Kasaija
2000- David Kasimbazi
2001 – Moses Kitaka
2002- Ronald Kidega
2003 – Phrase Lubega
2004 – Deo Akope
2005 – Vincent Byamukama
2006 – Henry Byaruhanga
2007 – Peter Ssendawula
2008 – Silver Opio
2009 – Godwin Eyoki
2010 – Steven Odongo
2011 – Joseph Bogera
2012 – Willy Kitata
2013 – Timothy Okwi
2014 – Shou Ta Shang
2015- Ibra Bagalana
2016- Edwin Tabaro
2017- Jude Ochieng
2018- Garrett Chen
2019- Habib Kisande