Lady golfers keen on maximising home advantage

Friday October 18 2019

Isuzu’s Khadr Mohammed with the national ladies

Isuzu’s Khadr Mohammed with the national ladies golf team. PHOTO BY EDDIE CHICCO 

By Allan Darren Kyeyune

Just like her game, Eva Magala loves her work to speak volumes. Midway her second year at the helm of the Uganda Ladies Golf Union (ULGU), Magala is keen on impressing again when the country hosts the fifth East & Central All Africa Challenge Trophy (ECAACT) next week.

Uganda will host delegates and players for four days from October 23-26 at the Entebbe Golf Club.

“We are grateful for the opportunity and ready to host Africa,” Magala said during the tournament launch yesterday.

ECAACT was started by current AACT president Hon Monica Ntege in 2009 when the Works Minister was still the Trustee of the region.

Uganda won the bid to host after Reunion Islands failed to host the 2017 edition and this edition has been bankrolled by R&A, Uganda Breweries, Job Connect, Uganda Tourism Board, GK Sports, Pearl Seeds and MAC East Africa who offered $7000 (Shs26m) under their brand Isuzu. Now after the flag-raising ceremony on October 23, the hosts want to make most of it all during the 54-hole stroke-play competition from October 24-26 at the par-71 course.

“This time, want to win it,” said Magala who, due to a big number of logistical roles, can only be Team Uganda’s manager.


Uganda will be captained by Irene Nakalembe and will lead the other trio comprising Tanzania Ladies Open winner Peace Kabasweka, Uganda Ladies Open queen Martha Babirye and left-hander Gloria Mbaguta.

“Our goal is to maximize the home conditions and win it. We will just pray about the pressure that comes with playing at home,” stated Nakalembe.

Uganda came third in Zimbabwe four years ago.

Uganda’s quartet was selected from the 10 players that played the qualifier and only three best scores per day will count.

There is also silverware for the individual winners. Uganda will compete with two-time defending champions Zambia, two-time winners Tanzania and Kenya. Rwanda pulled out due to lack of training.

TEAM UGANDA: Irene Nakalembe, Martha Babirye, Peace Kabasweka, Gloria Mbaguta
Team Manager: Eva Magala