Cwinyaai leads Otile hunt at 78th Uganda Golf Open

Wednesday September 4 2019

Otile (L) will be wary of Cwinyaai - his

Otile (L) will be wary of Cwinyaai - his clubmate from Tooro - when action tees off today. PHOTOS: EDDIE CHICCO 


Ronald Otile has been part of the title race at the Uganda Amateur Golf Open contests, winning three and finishing second in the last four editions.
When the 78th Castle Lite Open tees-off this morning at the Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa in Kigo, Otile will once again be in the spotlight.
“I am positive on winning it again,” Otile told Daily Monitor from his temporary residence at Mirembe Villas next to par-4 Hole No.16 in Kigo early this week, two since landing from USA where he is studying at Livingstone College in North Carolina.
In victories of 2015, Otile was pretty smart, he carried luck to edge Adolf Muhumuza in the 2016 sudden-death play-off and last year, Otile played with putting grit to come from six strokes behind Kenyan John Karichu to win the Open in Entebbe.
He has not been at home for three years and while away with another batch of stars Daniel Baguma, Titus Okwong, Joel Basalaine, Edrine Okwong and Collins Ajidra with whom he stays in Carolina, Otile’s rivalry cast continues to grow and with new faces.
To affirm a half-a-decade grip on this championship, Otile must beat a tough field of 130 players at the par-72 course over the next four days. “I love the greens in Kigo but I need to work on my irons,” said Otile. There were only four rounds of scores under 80 at water-filled Kigo course during the just-concluded 69th Uganda Ladies Open but he remains defiant. “The men’s game is different. I have a strategy for the water,” Otile stated, “The only challenge is the wind, it is on and off. One hole has wind and the other doesn’t.”
Tha handicap two player will go head-to-head with his friendly foe and understudy Joseph Cwinyaai who leads the home-based players’ quest. The latter recently guided Uganda to the East Africa Region IV Championship and the Victoria Cup titles earlier this year.

2018: Ronald Otile (Uganda)
2017: Ronald Rugumayo (Uganda)
2016: Ronald Otile (Uganda)
2015: Ronald Otile (Uganda)
2014: Willy Deus Kitata (Uganda)
2013: Peter Ssendawula (Uganda)
2012: Phillip Kasozi (Uganda)
2011: Rogers Byaruhanga (Uganda)
2010: Brian Mwesigwa (Uganda)
2009: Peter Ssendawula (Uganda)
2008: George Olayo (Uganda)
2007: Nicholas Rokoine (Kenya)