Day Two route has mix of rough, rocks

Sunday February 10 2019

Mangat has won the event before and has three

Mangat has won the event before and has three NRC titles to his name. PHOTO BY JB SSENKUBUGE & JOHN BATANUDDE  

By Fredrick Musisi Kiyingi & John Batanudde

The surviving crews after day one of the Lato Milk Mbarara Rally will this morning tackle approximately 120km spread over five Competitive Sections. David Nsobya, the clerk of the course, has warned drivers to wary of the terrains especially in the morning when the dew is still in existence and mixed with dust.
“The visibility is usually poor and drivers have to be extremely careful,” the clerk of the course told Sunday Monitor. But there is still hope some sections will provide thrills for fans despite the dust.

Typical village roads
Aaron Nsamba, navigator for Andy Musoke in Mitsubishi Evo VI, said the first 8km of CS5- (Rwentanga 31. 62 km) are very smooth while CS6-(Bwizibwera1 28.89km) has typical village roads which pass though banana plantations.
However, Nsamba predicted that the final section CS9- Bukiro JB- 23.87 km) will be the one to determine the eventual winner.
“This section has a lot of rocks with twist and turns. The one with a good strategy will come out smiling.”


Day 2
CS5- Rwentanga 31. 62 km
CS6- Bwizibwera1 28.89km
CS7- Kagyezi 19. 65km
CS8- Rubindi 15.02 km
CS9- Bukiro JB 23.87 km
Mbarara Rally winners since 2014
2018- Jas Mangat
2017- Omar Mayanja
2016- Ronald Ssebuguzi
2015- Duncan Mubiru
2014- Duncan Mubiru

2018- Susan Muwonge
2017- Christakis Fitidis
2016 – Jas Mangat
2015 – Arthur Blick Junior
2014 – Ronald Ssebuguzi
2013 – Jas Mangat
2012 – Jas Mangat
2011 – Susan Muwonge
2010 – Nasser Mutebi
2009 – Ronald Ssebuguzi
2008 – Dr Ashraf Ahmed
2007 – Ponsiano Lwakataka
2006 – Ronald Ssebuguzi
2005 – Ponsiano Lwakataka
2004 – Charlie Lubega
2003 – Moses Lumala
2002 – Charlie Lubega
2001 – Charlie Lubega
2000 – Charlie Lubega
1999- Moses Lumala