Fitidis to hit road first in Umospoc Kabalega Rally

Wednesday October 16 2019

Deserved Start. 2017 NRC champion Fitidis will

Deserved Start. 2017 NRC champion Fitidis will start first. PHOTO: JB SSENKUBUGE 


The organisers of the Umospoc Kabalega Rally in Hoima this weekend have reverted to the old starting formula.

This comes after the starting grid for the UMC Challenge Rally in Fort Portal had less powerful cars in CRC, 2WD and Group S categories ahead with the top drivers coming off the ramp last.
Justine Mungoma, the Clerk of the Course explained that the top drivers work hard to earn their points and be ahead in the starting order each season and hence it would be unfair to relegate them.

“We are going to use the rule as written in the books. There is nowhere they talk about starting in reverse order,” said Mungoma.

Six NRC titles
Christakis Fitidis (Evo X), the 2017 NRC champion, will be flagged off first followed by Ronald Ssebuguzi (Evo X) and Jas Mangat (Evo X). The three drivers have six NRC titles between them.

Hassan Alwi (Subaru N14) and Yasin Nasser (Subaru GVB) will complete the top five.
Mungoma also appealed to fans to travel early as the event opens wit two Competitive Sections (CS) totalling 30km on Saturday early morning before the Super Special Stage at Kontika Hotel in the afternoon.

“The morning sections will give spectators an early glimpse of their favourite drivers,” he said. The penultimate round on the FMU calendar has attracted close to 40 drivers.