Mayanja triumphs Nasser crowned national champion

Monday December 2 2019

Champions. Yasin Nasser(R) and Navigator Ali

Champions. Yasin Nasser(R) and Navigator Ali Katumba atop their Subaru GVB after winning the National Rally championship in Kapeeka. Photo by JB Ssenkubuge. 

By Fredrick Musisi Kiyingi

Omar Mayanja and Hussein Mukuye in MItsibishi EvoX emerged the winner of the final event of the season the Mosac Rally yesterday.

But it was joy for Yassin Nasser and Ali Katumba in Subaru GVB who left Kapeeka as national rally champion for the very first time. The Moil Rally crew finished 20 seconds to Mayanja.

It was the third time in five years for Hajji Mayanja to win an event in Kapeeka terrain. He won the Pearl and independence events in 2014.

Mayanja sponsored by Shell V-Power attributed his victory to patience. “My performance does the talking for me. I have been the fastest driver since Fort Portal , this is the crowning moment for me, Mayanja told the Daily Monitor. He said he is different from drivers like Yusuf Bukenya and Peter Kalule who delight the crowd. “ I drive calculating event move.”

It was was also Mayanja’s fourth NRC event win after the previous two in Kapeeka and Mbarara Rally in 2017. Mayanja also paid tribute to Shell for the sponsorship of the team. “ Out of the seven national championship events, Shell drivers won four.” Blick Jr (2), while Ssebuguzi and Mayanja won an event each.

Delight for Moil Team
Nasser was delighted with his maiden NRC title and puts it down to hard work by his Machanics. “ They are the real champions, without them we would not have succeeded. For us our work is to drive if the car is not ready we can’t drive,” he said.
He also thanked his fans ,sponsors, Moil Uganda, Kenya and Tanzania for the support and promised next year to come strongly and participate in Kenya Safari Rally in July.


Yassin also most likely recorded the highest points tally in NRC in the past 10 years. He finished with 495 points.
Earlier Rajiv Ruparelia was the driver of the day and delighted the crowd with his pace unfortunate Machanical problem forced him out in the second last section.
The event had a total of 214 km of which 135 were competitive.

Provisional results

Omar Mayanja/ Hussein Mukuye. 01.28.21
Yassin Nasser/ Ali Katumba. 01.28.41
Arthur Blick Jr/ George Ssemakula. 01.28.57
Ronald Ssebuguzi/Leon Ssenyange. 01.30.14
Alwi Hassan/ James Mwangi. 01.35.43