Sentamu, ‘Bobo’ in MX125 Garuga clash

Sunday May 12 2019

MX50cc, Pee Wee Jr, Liam N

MX50cc, Pee Wee Jr, Liam NtaIe is one to watch at Garuga. PHOTO BY JB SSENKUBUGE 

By Fredrick Musisi Kiyingi

KAMPALA- The fourth round of the Mountain Dew MX Championship is set for Victoria Race Track Garuga today. The event also doubles as Buggy National Championship.

The absence of the Orland siblings Alon (MX65cc), Stav (MX85cc) and Aviv (MX125) will deprive the fans of excitement but there would no shortage of competitiveness as riders try to collect points for national titles in all categories at the half way mark of the season.

The battle for supremacy between the quartet; William Blick Jr, Miguel Katende, Pascal Kasozi and Ramathan Mubiru in MX50cc is one to watch at Garuga. Forty eight points separate Blick Jr in the first place with Mubiru in the fourth place.

Early this week, Lubega (Tall Man), father to 9- year Old Kasozi was confident his son will come out top in MX50cc.
He said he has already beaten Katende this season and he gunning for Blick Jr. The absence of Aviv in MX125 cc opens up a new contest between Ali ‘Bobo’ Omar and Fortune Ssentamu. Bobo, the reigning champions has a lot of catching up after missing the opening three rounds through injury.

Elsewhere, Gift Ssebuguzi and Maxime van Pee are the riders to beat in MX65cc and MX1 respectively.

In the Buggy Championship, the showdown between Arthur Blick Jr and Ponsiano ‘Mafu Mafu’ Lwakataka is expected to bring fans to their feet. Other pairing are brothers Musa Nsubuga and Hussein Mukuye, Bobo vs Alesteir Blick and Wazir Omar vs Paddy Blick.


Standings after 3 rounds

MX50cc junior
Asharaf Mbabazi 175 pts
Jonathan Katende 146
Liam Ntale 132

William Blick Jr 167 pts
Pascal Kasozi 145
Miguel Katende 141
Alon Orland 171 pts
Gift Ssebuguzi 156
Kreidah Nsubuga 114

Stav Orland 180 pts
Waled Omar 136
Jonathan Muhindo 114
Aviv Orland 177 pts
Wazir Omar 141
Fortune Sentamu 105

Isma Mukiibi 175 pts
Jonathan Katende 146
Liam Ntale 132
Maxime van Pee 180
Asaf Naten 102
Juncture Serugunda 97

MX vets
Pieter Pelser 161
Aharaf Mbabazi Snr 152
Barak Orland 60

Buggy Championship pairing

Arthur Blick Jr vs Ponsiano Lwakataka
Alesteir Blick vs Ali ‘ Bobo’ Omar
Paddy Blick vs Wazir Omar
Hussein Mukuye vs Musa Nsubuga