Super Lady wins NRC title

Monday November 12 2018

Number one again: The crew of Edmund Kyeyune

Number one again: The crew of Edmund Kyeyune and ‘Super Lady’ Muwonge celebrate their second National Rally Championship title. PHOTO BY JB SSENKUBUGE 

By John Batanudde and Fredrick Musisi Kiyingi

Mbale. Seven years after winning her first National Rally Championship (NRC) title, Suzan ‘Super Lady’ Muwonge has added a second one.
Just like in 2011, she has crowned the season with victory in the Oryx Mosac Rally in Mbale beating a field of 17 cars that managed to finish.
Driving a Subaru N12B with regular navigator Edmund Kyeyune, the crew clocked a time, which was a minute and seven seconds ahead of second-placed Kephar Walubi and Anthony Mugambwa in an Evo X.
Consistence has been her benchmark in both title-winning seasons.
However, Muwonge attributes her glory to God’s grace and good planning. “Motorsport is a very expensive,” she noted yesterday.
“Without the backing of my husband (Lawrence Muwonge), it would not have been easy,” she observed. She also had special praise for her navigator Kyeyune.
“From 2005, we have been together and built a formidable team. It is not easy to stay that long together in this sport. My mechanics have been there for us too and I cannot forget my fans who have followed us.”
The Super Lady’s task was made easier when Jas Mangat pulled out on the eve, and then Ronald Ssebuguzi dropped out in the very first section on day one (Mugiti– 29kms) with broken drive shaft.
With Ssebuguzi’s exit, Muwonge only had to get 20 points to win the NRC title. But taking nothing away from her performance through the entire campaign as she showed that she can match the best.
Her victory now puts her level with motorsport legends Moses Lumala (1999, 2003) and Ponsiano Lwakataka (2005, 2007) on two national title.
Since 1999, only Charlie Lubega (4), Mangat and Ssebuguzi (with three each) have won more than two titles.
The next event for drivers is a sprint at Busiika to raise money for Lwakataka to buy a new car. The event will run alongside the final round of the MX championship.

Suzan Muwonge (Subaru N12B)
2.Kepher Walubi (Evo X)
3.Hassan Alwi (Subaru N14)

NRC Roll of honour

2018 – Suzan Muwonge
2017 – Christakis Fitidis
2016 – Jas Mangat
2015 – Arthur Blick Junior
2014 – Ronald Ssebuguzi
2013 – Jas Mangat
2012 – Jas Mangat
2011 – Susan Muwonge
2010 – Nasser Mutebi
2009 – Ronald Ssebuguzi
2008 – Dr Ashraf Ahmed
2007 – Ponsiano Lwakataka
2006 – Ronald Ssebuguzi
2005 – Ponsiano Lwakataka
2004 – Charlie Lubega
2003 – Moses Lumala
2002 – Charlie Lubega
2001 – Charlie Lubega
2000 – Charlie Lubega
1999 – Moses Lumala