Mbarara Rally launched - Daily Monitor

Mbarara Rally launched

Thursday January 11 2018

Shock winner: The crew of Omar Mayanja and

Shock winner: The crew of Omar Mayanja and Hussein Mukuye won the 2017 Lato Milk Mbarara Rally against all odds 

By Elvis Senono


The buildup to the season opening Mbarara Rally was last year dominated by the resistance Mbarara Motor Club faced when they opted to have the opening Super Special Stage held at Kakyeeka Stadium.
The launch of the 2018 edition at Pearl Diary offices yesterday showed such a scenario is not going to happen this year after the organisers followed through from the Oryx Rally in Masaka by scrapping the Super Special Stage.
The two-day rally set for is scheduled to begin at the Lato factory with a ceremonial start with the first Competitive Section (CS) being the 43.45km Biharwe –Sanga stage. The second CS will then involve a Spectator Stage at the Sanga stage with day One consequently involving a total of 148.32 km with 86.73km competitive according to clerk of course David Nsobya.
Day two will comprise of 107.33 of competitive sections and an accumulation of 148.46km for the event which for the second year running will have the backing of Lato Milk as main sponsors.
The company is contributing shs62m that will help in organization of the rally that is the first round of the National Rally Championship.
The rally has a total of 10 competitive stages the competitive sections making up 194km of the total 296.76km.
This includes the famous Kamatarisi stage that accounted for Jas Mangat, Arthur Blick and Hassan Alwi last season at the event won by Omar Mayanja.
“Try and see that you come out of the Kamatarisi section we maintained it because it eliminated many big wigs,” joked Mbarara Motor Club president Lilian Busingye.
The event was also attended by Col Fred Mwesigye as well as Mbarara Club patron Charles Muhangi and Motorsport president Dusman Okee.

2018 NRC- first round

Mbarara Rally
26-28 January
Total distance - 296.76km
Competitive sections – 10