Kobs beat Pirates to lift Uganda Cup

Monday October 29 2018

Back where they belong: Kobs players pop

Back where they belong: Kobs players pop champagne after winning the Cup. PHOTO BY EDDIE CHICCO 

By Deus Bugembe

KAMPALA. When center referee Sauda Adiru decided she had had enough of the 2018 Uganda Cup final by blowing the final whistle, Betway Kobs captain Brian Asaba cut an emotional figure as he fell on his knees with his hands raised like a believer whose prayers had paid off.
His side had just won the Uganda Cup against Pirates in some style.
Not only was it his first silverware as skipper, it was Kobs’ first 15s trophy since 2016 when they won the league.
To make the Cup victory sweeter, it had come against a next door rival who had it all. 14-3 down at some stage with things not clicking against a good side, Kobs desperately hang in there.

“We dug ourselves into a deep hole, fortunately the guys showed character and got themselves out of it,” said Asaba.
Pirates were quick off the blocks with two Joel Anguyo penalties before Kobs pulled back one through James Ijongat. Anguyo would add another before Musa Muwonge produced the first try of the game for Pirates to lead 14-3.
Then momentum swung as Kobs fought back with tries from Adnan Mutebi and Ivan Kirabo, Adrian Kasito converted one to give Kobs a one point lead at 15-14.

Kasito man of the match
The Pirates capitulation spurred by Kobs’ depth kicked on with the help of the tested trio of Victor Wadia, Roger Rukundo and Timothy Mudoola. Kasito added two penalties to be voted man of the match.
“We were supposed to kill off the game in first half but we didn’t pull the trigger when it mattered, this kept the Kobs in the game and it came to haunt us when they started dominating the scrum down in the last ten minutes and before we knew it, they had buried the game beyond our reach,” said Pirates captain Ivan Magomu.
With Kobs having drawn first blood in the new season, the league starts in a fortnight with plenty to look forward to.
Champions Pirates are focused on defending a trophy both Kobs and Heathens want, promising a three horse race.

Main cup final

Kobs 21-14 Pirates
Shield Cup final
Impis 6- 19 Jinja Hippos

Previous winners
1999: Heathens
2000: Heathens
2001: Heathens
2002: Heathens
2003: Heathens
2004: Heathens
2005: Kobs
2006: Kobs
2007: Pirates
2008: Kobs
2009: Heathens
2010: Kobs
2011: Kobs
2012: Kobs
2013: Heathens
2014: Heathens
2015: Heathens
2016: Heathens
2017: Pirates
2018: Kobs