Afcon 2019 ref Ssonko dropped as Fifa release new badge bearers

Sunday August 25 2019

Mark Ssonko, 41, was the only official from

Mark Ssonko, 41, was the only official from Uganda at the 2019 Afcon finals. File photo 


In a dramatic turn of events, Uganda’s only referee to officiate at the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) finals in Egypt, has been sent into early retirement after he was dropped from the list of those to receive the Fifa badges next season.

The Federation of Uganda Football Associations (Fufa) announced, on Thursday, after the 21st sitting of the executive committee at Mengo that 26 referees had been forwarded to Fifa for consideration of the 2020 Fifa badges. But it emerged that Mark Ssonko, 41, who was the only official at the Afcon finals, had to pave way for new blood.

Ssonko and Musa Balikoowa pave way for Emmanuel Okudra and Hakim Mulindwa.
Ssonko became a Fufa referee in 1998 and had not reached the mandatory retirement age of 45 years.

He was the first Ugandan to officiate at the Championship for Africa Nations (Chan) during the 2014 tournament in South Africa.
Brian Miiro Nsubuga, is another surprise omission after he was been replaced by fast rising 23-year-old Ronald Madanda.

Tiwuwe elevated
Florence Ayaro, who was approved just last season, has been dropped among the women referees with Eunice Tiwuwe, who has been elevated from the assistant referee roles, coming on board.
Dorcus Atuhaire takes the place of Catherine Nagadya among the assistant referees.

The beach soccer referees remain intact while Emmy Nsubuga, Isaac Sengendo and Benon Kamala are fronted as Futsal referees ahead of the sport’s accreditation later this year.


Referees (Men): Mashood Ssali,Alex
Muhabi, Ali Sabilla Chelangat, William
Oloya and Ronald Madanda.
Assistant referees (Men): Dick Okello,
Ronald Katenya, Okello Lee, Issa
Masembe, Hakim Mulindwa and
Emmanuel Okudra.
Referees (Women): Shamirah Nabadda,
Diana Murungi and Eunice Tiwuwe.
Assistant referees (Women): Lydia
Nantabo, Malex Nakitto, Jane Mutonyi
and Dorcus Atuhaire.
Beach Soccer Referees: Ivan Kintu
Bayige, Shafic Mugerwa, Muhammad
Ssenteza and Bazirio Kawagga.
Futsal Referees: Emmy Nsubuga, Isaac
Sengendo and Benon Kamala.