Football takes back seat, time for Caf politics now

Thursday July 18 2019

Face Off. Magogo (L) against Tenga today. PHOTO

Face Off. Magogo (L) against Tenga today. PHOTO BY JOHN BATANUDDE 


CAIRO. The 41st Caf Ordinary General Assembly takes place at Cairo Marriot Hotel, Zamalek today. All eyes will be on the zonal elections to serve on Caf executive committee.

Moses Magogo, the Fufa President Magogo is pitted against the incumbent Leodegar Tenga from Tanzania for Central – East Zone. Magogo has been on the co-opted Caf Executive Committee with no voting rights, and is now vying for full status among the six Caf Executive members, representing the Central – East Zone (Cecafa) which has 11 countries; Uganda, Burundi, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan and Tanzania.

Magogo is among the new breed of administrators close to the current Caf president Ahmad Ahmad, and will fancy his chances against Tenga, a former Cecafa and Tanzania Football Federation (TFF) president, who is seeking re-election to the same post.

The current wave in African football has seen young and new generation taking over various posts since Hayatou was voted out.
If Magogo gets the nod for Caf post, it will be another positive chapter as he slowly rises to the top of African football administration.

Elsewhere, the bad blood between Kalusha ‘Kalu’ Bwalya, the former Zambia football president, and the man who replaced him Andrew Kamanga is continuing after Bwalya became the campaign manager for Samir Sobha, Mauritius Football Association (MFA) chairperson.

The Mauritius president is varying for the Southern zone seat with Kamanga alongside three other candidates.
Kalu, who served two terms in the CAF Excom had his ambitions for a third term dashed by Kamanga, who exercised his right as an incumbent to contest the Caf position.


Uganda awaits 2021 draw
The last item on the agenda will be the Draw for Total Africa Cup of Nations Cameroon 2021 qualifiers. Uganda is in pot 2 along with Guinea, South Africa, Cape Verde, Zambia, Benin, Gabon, Congo Brazzaville, Mauritania, Niger, Kenya and Libya.

Special Cameroon
Pot 1 will have Senegal, Tunisia, Nigeria, Morocco, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ghana, Cameroon (hosts), Egypt, Burkina Faso, Mali, Ivory Coast, and Algeria.

There will be 12 groups comprised of four teams each with the top two qualifying for the finals.
Hosts Cameroon are guaranteed a place so only one other team will qualify from their group.