Gomba for fifth Masaza trophy

Tuesday May 21 2019

Preparation package.  Deputy Premier Twaha

Preparation package. Deputy Premier Twaha Kaawaase (R) hands over a t-shirt to Buluuli manager yesterday at Mengo. Photo By George Katongole 

By George Katongole

KAMPALA. Gomba County is hopeful of creating more history as the Airtel Masaza Cup is set to start.

Gomba have won the trophy the most number of times, four and lost the finals on four other occasions.

Team manager Mansoor Kabugo said they are well equipped to conquer again. The inaugural winners in 2004 last lifted the trophy in 2017 and the team started by bringing Turkish coach Omer Selli.

“Making technical changes is a positive way for us and I think we are on the right path,” Kabugo said.

Selli, a CAF C licence holder has some domestic experience with Turkish Light Academy and Galaxy International School.

But other teams are equally equipped as Buddu has captured Steven Bogere while defending champions Ssingo still keep faith in Shafiq Bisaso and Felix Sekabuuza.


“We still remain favourites and we shall prove it when games begin,” Bisaso said. The Masaza Cup is played between the 18 traditional counties of Buganda Kingdom.

Only seven counties; Busiro, Busujju, Butambala, Buvuma, Kabula, Kyaggwe and Ssese are yet to reach the final.

Money trickles in
Airtel, the official sponsors, unveiled their Shs400m sponsorship package during a ceremony attended by team officials and Deputy Katikkiro Twaha Kaawaase at Bulange Mengo.

Remmie Kisaakye the head of brand and communications at Airtel, announced that this partnership has been mutually beneficial as they have seen players transition to the league and national team.

“This is a non-league tournament which has proved to be the right platform for players to excel,” Kisakye said. Each team was given Shs5m and two sets of jerseys as a preparation package.

Previous winners

2004: Ggomba
2005: Mawokota
2006: Kooki
2007: Mawokota
2008: Kyaddondo
2009: Ggomba
2010: Not held
2011: Buluuli
2012: Bulemeezi
2013: Mawokota
2014: Ggomba
2015: Ssingo
2016: Buddu
2017: Ggomba
2018: Ssingo