Big artistes snubbed in VIGA awards: little known artistes win big - Daily Monitor

Big artistes snubbed in VIGA awards: little known artistes win big

Monday August 11 2014

VIGA awards

Monitor reporter Jonathan Adengo (not in suit) with the fast rising Acapella group the Canaan Gents who bagged two awards (social media and Acapella awards). Photo by Lubowa Abubaker 

By Jonathan Adengo

The Victorius Gospel Music Awards rewarded over 35 different personalities in the gospel music industry. The awards which mainly seek to recognise the big strides and achievements in the gospel music industry attracted a large number of participants across the religious realm to theatre Labonita, where the ceremony took place. .

The night which was a red carpet affair went down on Saturday, amidst ululations and excitement which got some of the revellers running to the stage to cheer on their favourite artistes.

The ceremony started at about 5pm with performances along Colville Street. The guests were later on ushered in to the main auditorium where the awarding ceremony began.

The awards came with a bit of surprises as the favourites and "big dogs" in the gospel music fraternity failed to win any awards. Artistes like Wilson Bugembe did not win any but Judith Babirye managed only Album of the year award. Instead the small and upcoming artistes bagged the awards.


Exodus is the Male artist of the year. Photo by Lubowa Abubaker

The big winners of the night were fast rising acapella group the Canaan Gents which comprises of four gentlemen. The group bagged two awards for Acapella and another for social media given their big presence in the social circles. They later on wowed the audience with their voices as they did a piece.

Other noteworthy winners were Pastor Betty Badda whose energising performances and colourful costumes worn by the backup dances gave the audience something to write home about. Several other artistes like Joy Tendo, who won female artiste of the year, Exodus who bagged male artiste of the year, and Julie Mutetasira among others put up very good performances.

Joy Tendo

Artiste Joy Tendo bagged the female artist of the Year award. Photo by Lubowa Abubaker

However, in spite of the few glitches here and there like the bad sound, and poor lighting, the awards managed to show big strides with their wide coverage of the different denominations of the gospel music industry. This time round other religious groups were also recognised, and even the kadongo kamu singers.

The mcs of the day also left a lot to be desired as the different guests came to announce the different winners amidst interruptions by those announcing the nominees in the different categories.

But never the less, the organisers did a great job putting the awards together. The night was closed with a performance by Exodus

List of winners

Best Song writer – Moses Ssozi

Best Video Producer – CVL Aiden

Best Audio producer –Paddy man

Best promoting Icon – We mix

Best Instrumentalist Award –Charmant

Best Dance group – Storm Riders

Acapella award – Canaan gents

VIGA Merit award – Bishop Senfuma

Best Catholic Choir – Divine love

Best Adventist choir – Glorious singer

Best Pentecostal choir - Kigenge holy gate choir

Best Reggae award – Rev Edmond and Rachel

Best Hip hop award – S4J

Best Dancehall award – Robinsan

Best RnB artiste – Levixone

Best traditional artiste – Olivia Muwumba

Best Kadongo kamu artiste – Joseph Ngoma

Best Afristyle – Pastor Betty Badda

Best Afro Beat award – Gladys Mirembe

Best Upcoming artiste – Kiggundu Wilson

New Talent award – K-cross and Polo

Special entity award – Mesach Ssemakula

Best Exemplary song – MC Africa

Gospel legends award – Pastor Simon Kayiwa

Best Collaboration award – G-way

Best Worship and Praise – Pastor Robert Kayanja

Best Performer – Pastor Betty Badda

Best Diaspora artiste – Ronnie Mukisa

Social Media award – Canaan Gents

Best Female artiste – Joy Tendo

Best Male artiste of the year – Exodus

Video of the year award – Prophecy by Exodus

Song of the year – Ssabba by Julie Mutessasira

Album of the year – Okilizidwa by Judith Babirye