Minister Nabakooba asks court to nullify Bagala’s victory as Mityana Woman MP

A photo montage of Mityana District Woman MP-elect and her predecessor, ICT minister Ms Judith Nabakooba. PHOTOS/ FILE/ COURTESY 

What you need to know:

Mityana District Returning officer, Mr Stephen Makubuya on January 15 declared Ms Bagala of the National Unity Platform (NUP) winner of the hotly contested race after she got 64,305 votes. The other candidate in the race, Ms Brenda Nabaliisa, garnered 1,509 votes.

The Minister of ICT and national guidance, Ms Judith Nabakooba has petitioned Mubende High Court seeking to overturn the victory of Mityana District Woman MP-elect Joyce Bagala.
In her petition, Ms Nabakooba who came second in the January 14 elections after getting 48,078 votes accuses the Electoral Commission (EC) and Ms Bagala (respondents) of conspiring to steal her victory.


You're all set to enjoy unlimited Prime content.