Thursday February 25 2016

Lukwago bounces back as Lord Mayor

Kampala Lord Mayor Erias Lukwago is

Kampala Lord Mayor Erias Lukwago is congratulated by LC V woman councillor elect for Makindye East Ms Sarah Kanyike after he was announced winner. Photo by Alex Esagala. 

By Moses Kyeyune

Erias Lukwago was declared winner of the city mayoral race with over 80% of the votes by Kampala district returning officer Charles Ntege early on Thursday morning.

He polled 176,637 votes to beat NRM’s Daniel Kazibwe also known as Ragga Dee with a margin of 127,271 votes. Kazibwe polled 49,366 votes. Democratic Party’s Issa Kikungwe polled 7,759 votes.
A total of 2,591 votes were invalid while the spoilt votes were 461.

Speaking to the media after being declared winner, Lukwago promised to carry out an audit into the finances spent by the authority for the past five years.
Lukwago has also asked President Yoweri Museveni to respect the will of the people and cooperate with the new political leadership of KCCA.

Meanwhile, the opposition Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) has won majority numbers of councilors at Kampala Capital City Authority.
The FDC that had only one councilor in the outgoing council increased its numbers to 16 out of a total of 23.

Some of the positions won include Makerere University Woman Councilor taken by Doreen Nyanjura, Nakawa Direct and Female Councilors, Lubaga South, Kawempe North and South and Makindye West constituencies.

The Democratic Party took only three council positions while the NRM took three seats in Kyambogo and Makerere University directly elected councilors as well as Kampala Central.
The elections also saw many of the incumbent councilors trounced and some of these include, Bernard Luyiga, Hope Katushabe, Zahara Luyulika and Lukwaya Kawulukusi among others.