Chaos as NRM announces two winners for same seat

National Resistance Movement electoral chairperson Tanga Odoi addresses the media at their headquarters on Kyadondo Road in Kampala recently. PHOTO | DAVID LUBOWA 

The National Resistance Movement (NRM) electoral commission chairperson, Mr Tanga Odoi, has sacked the party registrar for Rwampara District for disobeying his orders and declaring a different winner in last week’s NRM primaries.
On Saturday last week, Mr Tanga declared Ms Molly Asiimwe the winner of the Rwampara District Woman MP NRM flag with 17,808 votes. She was followed by Ms Annah Kansiime with 16,565 votes, Ms Peace Kusasira with 9,813 votes, Ms Agnes Tusiime (3,345), Ms Esther Kirabo (2,147) and Ms Kasifa Shakira (850).
However on Monday, the district NRM registrar, Mr Richard Asiimwe, also declared Ms Kansiime the duly elected party flag bearer for the same seat, sparking confusion and chaos among voters.
‘’The NRM electoral commission chairperson, Mr Tanga Odoi, declared results that are different from what we obtained as NRM electoral commission-Rwampara District,’’ Mr Asiimwe told Daily Monitor on Monday.
Mr Asiimwe said Ms Kansiime polled 20,019 votes, followed by Ms Molly Asiimwe with 14,410 votes.
However, addressing journalists in Mbarara Town on Monday, Mr Tanga said he is the only one allowed by the NRM constitution to declare winners in any given election unless someone is delegated to do so.


You're all set to enjoy unlimited Prime content.