Ibanda: The home of mixed farming

Monday February 3 2014

Ibanda Hill from where the district derives its

Ibanda Hill from where the district derives its name. Photo by Colleb Mugume 


Ibanda District is a land of coffee, bananas, mangoes, passion fruits, pineapples, jack fruits and water melons. The district has extensive ridges and hills which form the important water sheds for the area and beyond.
The hills and ridges form the upper catchments of the water streams like Mukazanyara, Kamukuri, Kyereeta and Ryengoma from where residents tap gravity water. Ibanda has a very cool climate. British Colonial Administrators had established a liaison office for administration of the western region.
Ibanda became famous after the death of Galt, a young colonial administrator.

Galt was speared to death in 1905 in Ibanda town by monarchists opposing colonialists. The colonial administrators forced people to pile a heap of stones to cover the blood that spilled from his body. This heap has remained to date.

Road infrastructure
Ibanda has 246km roads for the district gazette and community roads. At least four streets in Ibanda Town Council are tarmac. The highway from Mbarara up to Ibanda town is tarmaced. Another road going through the district; Kiruhura-Ibanda -Ishongorero up to Kamwenge town is being paved.

There are 124 government-aided primary schools and 148 privately owned ones. There are 12 government-aided secondary schools.

Health centres

There is one hospital- Ibanda Hospital-owned by the Catholic Church and 43 government health centres.


Economic activity
The major activity for the people of Ibanda is farming. They grow crops like bananas, coffee, beans, millet, maize, potatoes and cassava. They also grow fruits like pineapples, oranges, mangos, ovacados while other farmers look after animals which include cattle, goats and pigs. Others do poultry and beekeeping on a small scale. There are metal fabricators in Ibanda town where youth earn a living by making frames of doors, windows, gates and various commercial activities. There are small scale industries coming up like coffee factories and maize mills.

Movers and shakers of Ibanda district

Eng John Byabagambi is the Member of Parliament for Ibanda South and member of NRM. He is the State Minister for Works.

Mr Amon Mwijukye is the LC5 vice chairperson representing Bisheeshe Sub-county on the district council. Before joining politics Mr Mwijukye served as headteacher in several secondary schools.

Mr Francis Bamya Tumusiime is a politician

Mr Robert Nuwamanya is the Town Clerk for Rushango town council. He served as Community Development Officer and sub-county chief.

Ms Mabel Namara Kakuba has been LC3 Chairperson for Nyabuhikye Sub-county for over 10 years. The former primary school teacher beat three men to the position.

Mr Tom Nuwagira is acting district Natural Resources Officer. He has been instrumental in a forestation and fighting against environmental degradation.

Mr Silver Tumusiimirwa He is a retired senior District Co-operative Officer. He was a Lecturer at Uganda Cooperative College, Kigumba. Currently, he is serving on Ibanda District Service Commission.

Mr Yoramu Mwedeheza is a retired marine engineer. He served as a marine engineer on the Indian Ocean and is now a farmer.

Ms Agiripina Mpora is the first female speaker for Ibanda town council. She has served as LC3 councillor for Lugazi Ward for over 15 years.

Bishop John Baptist Kakubi. He is a retired Bishop of Mbarara Catholic Archdiocese. Bishop Kakubi is a voice of the voiceless people in Ibanda district. He works hand-in-hand with all religious leaders.

Angella Mpeirwe has been Ag Senior Lands Management Officer for Ibanda district since 2005.

Mr Godians Rwamashonje Ahimbisibwe is a teacher at St Mary’s Senior Secondary School, Kisubi in Wakiso District. He is current chairman of Ibanda Rotary Club.

Mr Melchiadis Kazwengye is the LC5 Chairperson. In 2005 Kazwengye was elected as an interim chairperson to head the district for one year. He later in 2006 participated in elections and was elected for five years. In 2012 Kazwengye stood and won the election for the second time.

Mr Xavier Kyoma Akampurira is the MP Ibanda North. The youthful legislator defeated Rtd Capt Guma Gumisiriza in the 2011 parliamentary election.
Mr Herbert Happy Mayanja is the Speaker for Ibanda District Council and councillor for Keihangara Sub-county. He is the director of Citizen High School in Ibanda.

Ms Justine Barekye. She is the acting Town Clerk Ibanda town council. She has been working hard to clean the town and remove animals loitering the streets.

Mr Deus Rogers Mulinde. He is mayor Ibanda town council where he has served for 10 years. He is the director of Resort Hotel, Ibanda. Mr Mulide owns storeyed buildings in Ibanda town. He is also the director of Kanyiginya projects, Caltex Fuel Station and other businesses in Ibanda town.
Sheik Yusufu Kalule district Khadi elect.

Ms Margaret Kiboijana is the district Woman MP. She is an anti-poverty crusader and has supplied coffee seedlings, goats and pigs to the residents. She has given support to a number of Saccos, schools and churches.

Mr Bernard Mazirwe Kakwene is the secretary for Finance, Ibanda District. He represents Ibanda Town Council.

Capt Sunday Newman is a pilot who has served for the last 40 years. He has worked for the East African Airways as a Pilot. Currently, he is a farmer at Katooma village.

Ms Jolly Mugyenyi is the councillor representing women of Kagongo Ward as LC3 councillor. She is secretary for social services, Ibanda Town Council.

Mr Obed Mabwana is Town Clerk of Ishongorero Town Council. He is the brain behind the establishment of Citizen Senior Secondary School, Ibanda. and a director of Western College of Commerce.

Mr Christopher Kafura Tibanyendera. He is a retired senior town clerk for Ibanda town council. He was a former Member of Parliament for Buhweju County, in Bushenyi District during CA. He is proprietor of Hill View Gardens at Kitwe, Ibanda. He owns a number of commercial and residential buildings in Ibanda town.

Mr Deo Rwabiita served as MP for Ibanda County for 14 consecutive years. He also represented the Uganda government as Ambassador in Rome, Italy.
Mr Geoffrey Kamagara. He is a farmer and trader. Through Radio Talk shows where he appears regularly, Mr Kamagara encourages residents to grow coffee and plant trees.

David Begumisa is a prominent commercial farmer in Ibanda District. He mainly deals in apiary, coffee and fruits.

Guma Gumisiriza served as Ibanda North MP for three terms before he was defeated in 2011.

Mr Emmanuel Kamugisha He is LC5 councillor for Kikyenkye Sub-county, Ibanda District. He is Secretary for Works.

Mr Pastori Kamagara is the chairperson Public Accounts Committee of the council.

Mr Jeebs Rwomushana. He is the headmaster of Alliance Senior Secondary School.
Otong Ignatius – He is the District Police Commander

Ms Fridah Birekeraho is secretary for social services, Ibanda District. She is
LC5 councillor for Kashangura Sub-county, Ibanda North constituency. She has served as LC 5 Councillor for over 20 years.

Dr Thophilus Mwesigye is the district veterinary officer.

Mr Erry Kiirya is the district forestry officer.

Mr Nuwagira Lawrence the district finance officer

Mr Aloysius Kasingye is the principal personnel officer.

Mr Zephiline Tumwesigye is the principal fisheries officer

Mr Silver Kabigyema the district education officer

Mr. Tayebwa Benon is the production and marketing officer

Dr ErIc Gamurorwa is the chairperson Land Board.

Dr Patrick Kagoro is the chairperson Ibanda District Service Commission.