Blick bounces back at UMC challenge

Monday September 2 2019

Triumphant.  Arthur Blick Jr and George

Triumphant. Arthur Blick Jr and George Ssemakula celebrate after winning the fifth round of the National Rally Championship in Fort Portal yesterday. Courtesy Photo 

By Fredrick Musisi Kiyingi

Fort Portal. 2015 was the last time Arthur Blick Jr won a national rally event.

That was on his way to winning the National Rally Championship title. Four years on, Blick Jr and George Ssemakula in Mitsubishi Evo X emerged the winners of the event yesterday.

The Shell Helix crew finished the event at 01:12:53 ahead of Alwi Hassan and Siraj Kyambadde in Subaru N14 who ended the day at 01:13:24.
“It was by the grace of God that we came out top against a top competitor Alwi,” A delighted Blick Jr told Daily Monitor at Boma Grounds.

“This young man (Alwi) should be taken seriously.He made us sweat throughout the event, he is a tough competitor.” The two from day one exchanged the lead with Blick Jr taking the lead on day one but surrendered it in the first section yesterday, with Alwi taking a second lead.

But Blick Jr bounced back and snatched the lead after a competitive section five (Harugongo-27.07km). He did not look back in the final two sections.
His co-driver Semakula was also delighted to finally sit in a winning car. “The last time I navigated a driver to victory was in 2017 during the Kabale Rally,” he said.

He won the event with Duncan ‘Kikankane’ Mubiru who this time round after numerous problems finished seventh. Alwi was still lamenting about his Subaru lacking power.
“My engine lacked power after the mechanical problem I had in the Pearl Rally.


But I am delighted that I challenged more powerful cars and came second,” he said. Ronald Sebuguzi who won the event last year finished fourth at 01:14:47.
“We are now less than 100 points behind the Championship leader Yasin Nasser, but we stil have 200 points to compete,” he said.

The driver of the day should go to Abdul Kateete and Rahma Mohammed in Subaru N14, who recorded good times and only pipped for fifth place by Haj Omar Mayanja and Hussien Mukuye in yet another Shell Helix Mitsubishi Evo X. The next event is the Umospoc Rally in Hoima early next month.

Provisional results

1 Arthur Blick Jr/George Ssemakula (Evo X). 01:12:53
Alwi Hassan/ Siraj Kyambadde (Subaru N14) 01:13.24
Yasin Nasser/ Ali Katumba (Subaru GVB). 01:13:34
Ronald Ssebuguzi/ Leon Ssenyange (EvoX) 01:14:47
Omar Mayanja/ Hussien Mukuye. (Evo X). 01:14:58
Abdul Kateete/ Rahma Mohammed (Subaru N14) 01:15:39
Duncan Mubiru/ Musa Nsubuga (Subaru GBV) 01:16:39
Christakis Fitidis/ Cedric/ Buzabo (Evo X) 01:19:49