A Cabinet line-up that would work for Uganda today

As the country gears up for a new government following the swearing-in of President Museveni last Thursday, the Sunday Monitor brings you what we believe would be a good Cabinet line-up. We have looked at the challenges that the country faces, with the attendant opportunities.

We have also considered the qualities of the individuals, as well as past contributions to governance in this country. We have picked them from the traditional basket – ruling party MPs – but also looked into the Opposition, outside of Parliament, and into the world of technocrats.

We have defined the country’s needs as being economic development, geopolitical interests, social stability, environment and physical resource management, governance and integrity, and efficiency. We have also learned from reliable sources that these are names being considered by the President for appointment to the Cabinet and to junior minister positions. Names being considered include the following:

President’s shortlist
Vice-President: Gilbert Bukenya or Edward Ssekandi or Margaret Atengo.
Prime Minister: Apolo Nsibambi or Aggrey Awori or Amelia Kyambadde.
1st Deputy Premier/EA Affairs: Eriya Kategaya (he could also stay on as minister for East Africa Affairs only.
2nd Deputy Premier/Minister Without Portfolio: Amama Mbabazi.
Third Deputy Prime Minister/Tourism: Moses Ali.
Oil & Petroleum: Amelia Kyambadde.
Energy: Irene Muloni.
Foreign Affairs: Ruhakana Rugunda.
Security: Betty Bigombe. Teso Affairs: Grace Akello.
Internal Affairs: Kahinda Otafiire.
Kampala:Beatrice Wabudeya.
Ethics: David Bahati.
Agriculture: Bright Rwamirama.
Defence: JJ Odongo.
State for Defence: Alex Onzima.
Information: Mary Karooro Okurut.
Gender: Margaret Muhanga. Presidency: Janat Mukwaya.
Works: John Nasasira or John Byabagambi.
State for Works: Nathan Byanyima.
Trade: Ephraim Kamuntu. Health: Janet Museveni.
Office of the Prime Minister: Hillary Onek.
Chief Whip: Daudi Migereko.
Bunyoro Affairs: Kabakumba Matsiko.
Disaster Management: Stephen Mallinga.
Public Service: Henry Kajura.
Water: Maria Mutagamba. Local Government: Adolf Mwesige.
The Sunday Monitor has considered the individual merits of the persons, as well as the challenges and opportunities the country faces. In the interests of efficiency, we have also merged a number of ministries, and limited the line-up to the Constitutional (Article 113 (2)) provision of a total of twenty-one.
Following is the Sunday Monitor’s recommended Cabinet line-up (with no deputy or state ministers):
Vice President: Betty Bigombe
Prime Minister: Nathan Nandala Mafabi
1st Deputy Prime Minister & Minister of Foreign Affairs: Eriya Kategaya
2nd Deputy Prime Minister & Minister of Defence: Maj. Gen. Mugisha Muntu
3rd Deputy Prime Minister & Minister of Finance: Gerald Sendaula
Minister of Oil, Energy & Minerals: Hillary Onek
Minister of Internal Affairs & Security: Fred Ruhindi
Minister of Agriculture: Andrew Rugasira
Minister of Information & ICT: Dr Ham Mulira
Minister of the Presidency: Adolf Mwesige
Minister of Works & Transport: Dr William Muhairwe
Minister of Trade & Industry: Aga Sekalala Jr.
Minister of Tourism: Dr Maggie Kigozi
Minister of Finance: Dr Louis Kasekende
Minister of Health: Dr Ruhakana Rugunda
Minister of Public Service: Fred Omach
Minister of Local Government, Lands & Housing: Henry Okello Oryem
Water & Environment: Beatrice Anywar
Minister of Labour: Charles Bakkabulindi
Minister of Justice & Constitutional Affairs + Attorney General: Justice James Ogoola
Minister of Education, Gender & Sports: Fagil Mandy
Chief Whip: Daudi Migereko

Readers are welcome to make suggestions at this email address: [email protected]