Uganda 9th parliament: Kadaga is Speaker, Oulanya deputy

Speaker Rebbeca Alitwala Kadaga

Uganda law makers on Thursday elected Ms Rebbeca Alitwala Kadaga as Speaker for the 9th parliament. Kadaga, who had been fronted by the NRM party for the seat, won by 302 votes. Her closest rival for the speaker seat, 8th Parliament Public Accounts Committee Chairman and MP for Budadiri West Nandala Mafabi managed to garner 57 votes.

Ms Kadaga also served as Deputy Speaker in the 6th, 7th, and 8th parliament.

During the vote counting for the seat of Speaker, two votes were declared invalid. One of the invalid votes was in favour of 8th Parliament speaker Edward Ssekandi who opted not to stand for the post again. The other invalid vote was cast for MP Jacob Oulanyah.

MP Jacob Oulanya was voted as deputy speaker of parliament by 299 votes. Opposition MP Odonga Otto (Aruu county) got the same number votes as those of Nandala Mafabi contested for the Speaker of parliament seat -- 57 votes.  

Who is Rebecca Kadaga

Born on 24 May 1956 in Kamuli district Rebecca Alitwala Committee attended Namasagali College for her high school education. She graduated with a law degree (LLB) from Makerere University in 1978 and later She went on to obtain the Diploma in Legal Practice from the Law Development Center in Kampala in 1979. In 2000, she obtained the Diploma in Women's Law from the University of Zimbabwe. In 2003, she obtained the degree of Master of Arts (MA), specializing in Women's Law, also from the University of Zimbabwe. is the Woman MP for the Kamuli District Constituency

Between 1984 and 1988, she was in private law practice. From 1989 until 1996, she served as the woman MP for Kamuli District in the District Woman's Constituency. She served as the Chairperson of the University Council for Mbarara University, between 1993 and 1996. During 1996, she served as Secretary General of the East African Women Parliamentarians Association.

From 1996 until 1998, Rebecca Kadaga was the Ugandan Minister of State for Regional Cooperation (Africa and the Middle East). She then served as Minister of State for Communication and Aviation, from 1998 until 1999. Between 1999 and 2000 she was the Minister for Parliamentary Affairs.