FDC names party chair

Wednesday December 25 2013

Ms Ssebugwawo.

Ms Ssebugwawo. 

By Isaac Imaka


Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) has appointed Rubaga Division (KCCA) Mayor Joyce Ssebugwawo as acting national chairperson replacing Sam Njuba, who passed on a fortnight ago.

Ms Ssebugwawo will serve in acting capacity until the party conducts elections in 2014.
Officials said on Monday the decision was reached by an assembly of regional chairpersons. Ms Ssebugwawo is vice chairperson for the central region.

“The seat was in Buganda and this influenced our decision that Ms Joyce Ssebugwawo replaces Njuba as the chair for the meantime,” said Ms Kevin Taaka, the eastern region chairperson and Busia Municipality MP, at a press briefing.

The party constitution
According to the party’ constitution the chairperson convenes and chairs the national delegates’ conference and oversees discipline and overall ethical standards. Ms Taaka said in the interim, Ms Ssebugwawo’s role will be largely centred on mobilisation across the country as the party prepares for next year’s election.

When contacted, the party secretary for legal and constitutional affairs, Mr Wandera Ogalo, said he was not yet privy to the matter but noted “as long as it was reached in line with the constitution, then it is unquestionable”.

Section 29 (III) of the party’ constitution notes: “If the vacancy cannot be immediately filled by reason of any constitutional requirement the office shall be filled by the next senior personnel in rank.”

Ms Ssebugwawo said she would help consolidate what she has always been doing as the central region chairperson but most notably reach out to grassroots nationwide. “Our efforts should be mainly geared to our party structures which are currently being destroyed as we approach elections in 2016.”

The spokesman, Mr Wafula Oguttu was not available for comment. Ms Ssebugwawo becomes the fourth national chairperson in a span of six years after, Njuba, John Butime and Dr Sulaiman Kiggundu, who died in 2008.